Flash problem

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by Amphersand, Jun 5, 2006.

  1. Amphersand macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    #1
    I have inherited a flash movie that is to used in the same way as a banner ad.

    But the space for the flash movie is now smaller than originaly intended (by around 100 pixels width ways) Is it possible to crop the animation as i might do with an image in photoshop? Im aware i can change my movie dimensions, but it doesnt seem to give me any control over which part of the movie is croped when i make the size change?

    Ive had a go at selecting all my items and then selecting all my frames and then re-centering everything, but it doesnt work, it just centres everything for the first or last frame and then my whole animation floats sideways.

    I have the .fla as well as the .swf and i realy dont want to have to redo the whole thing from scratch.

    If this doesnt make any sense, let me know.

    Any help at all is mucho appreciated, and can i just say, thank god adobe have bought macromedia because theyre products are amature c**p to say the least. Ive been ready to punch something all day!:mad: :mad: :mad:
     
  2. decksnap macrumors 68040

    decksnap

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    #2
    You can move it all at once by selecting the 'edit multiple frames' button as seen in this screen-grab. (It's just below the timeline). Then drag the sliders above the timeline all the way out, then 'select all'.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Amphersand thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    #3
    Decksnap! Cheers mate - problem solved, and another problem found!

    My movie keeps looping and i only want it to play through the once. Ive tried going into my Publishing Settings and un-checking Loop in the Playback boxes. Am i missing another loop option somewhere???

    Anyone???
     
  4. Amphersand thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    #4
    And even better! I have had to match colours in the flash movie to colours in the rest of my site (a background blue which needs to look seamless) Ive achieved this and it all looks fine in Safari and Opera, but its just out in Explorer!!!!:mad:

    If anybody can offer any help it would be much appreciated!
     
  5. Dafke macrumors 6502

    Dafke

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    #5
    in the last frame on one of the layers, go to your actionscript panel and type
    Code:
    stop();
     
  6. Dafke macrumors 6502

    Dafke

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    #6
    link maybe?
     
  7. Dafke macrumors 6502

    Dafke

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
  8. Amphersand thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    #8
    :) :) :) Nice one Dafke! Im smiling alot more now! Dont have a link at the moment, havent been able to upload anything yet. I just need to match the colours in IE - is it possible that its another of my saving/publication options??? Im saving it at flash3??? Top spec on it all. Just baffled by the fact its ok in the other browsers and not in IE. :confused: Im using a flat screen if that makes any odds?

    Any help is as ever much appreciated.

    Thanks for all the help so far!!!!:D
     
  9. Dafke macrumors 6502

    Dafke

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    #9
    Well, just make sure the colour code you use in flash (for example #FF0000 for red) is the same in the html page, I can't think of anything else. If you upload it i can have a look at it.
     
  10. Amphersand thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    #10
    Bizzarley, the colour problem seems to have sorted itself out ??????:confused: :D

    Dont know, why or how, previewed it again and it was perfect? Possibly a screen glitch or IE having a bit of a moment???

    Thanks for all the help!:D
     
  11. mnkeybsness macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
    #11
    It's even easier to use wmode="transparent" in the HTML to completely free your Flash movie from any background (though not fully supported in older browsers).
     

Share This Page