Flip4Mac is released for Intel Based Macs

Discussion in 'MacBytes.com News Discussion' started by cseeman, Jul 27, 2006.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
  2. macrumors regular

    bbergie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Location:
    Calgary
    #2
    Thanks for the heads up. I'm on my way to download it now. :)
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    #3
    where does it say it's universal?
    They haven't put it up on the Flip4Mac.com site. I guess I'll wait until it's on there and official.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    bbergie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Location:
    Calgary
    #4
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    #5
    can someone confirm that 610wip.com doesn't work?
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    Bern

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    Does that mean we can download version 2.1 for our Intel Macs and use the serial number we purchased for our PPC version to activate the features we paid for? Or do we have to re-purchase all over again?
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Josh396

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Peoria/Chicago, IL
    #7
    It's about time.
     
  8. macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #8
    My old serial works fine.
     
  9. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #9
    Same here. I'm stoked to have my Flip4Mac back. :)
     
  10. macrumors regular

    lOUDsCREAMEr

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Location:
    Safari desert
    #10
    still won't play most Yahooooo vidz:(
     
  11. macrumors 68000

    Bern

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #11
    Yep you're right guys.. phew! Everything is now as it should, well accept for freeking Photoshop.
     
  12. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #12
    'bout time.

    Sadly, it still does all kinds of ugly things to almos any page in Camino with embedded video--left half of the controller is usually blanked out by a "mystery box", and the rest of the layout on the page is usually munged somewhere between moderately and severely.

    Same sites work perfectly in Safari, though, so I guess it's an issue with however Camino handles embedding.
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    #13
    Flip2Mac is one of my favorite OS X apps.
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #14
    Works fine on my Macbook with Safari :) Glad to have this program back!

    Now... all we need is a VLC universal ;)
     
  15. Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #15
    I'm not a big VLC user and am on PPC machines anyway, but haven't there been Intel versions available for almost three months now?
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    solaris

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #16
    Don't hold your breath!
    Cause the VLC developers have stated that they don't plan to release a Universal Binary.

    The main cause is that the VLC application would be close to twice the size of a platform specific one. Because most of the size is taken by binaries, and not shared files like .nibs, images, etc.
     
  17. macrumors 68000

    MacSA

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    I thought this software was free? :eek:

    EDIT: Just noticed you have to pay for the advanced version.
     
  18. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #18
    The player is free, the encoders etc. aren't.
     
  19. macrumors 68000

    FleurDuMal

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    London Town
    #19
    What is the advantage of the advanced version? Is it worth paying for? How does it compare to QT Pro?

    (I would go on the Flip4Mac website myself, but I'm at work and it's blocked).
     
  20. macrumors 6502a

    Lollypop

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    #20
    freaken finally! :D :D Along with office this is one of the big things that I wanted to go universal!
     
  21. Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #21
    My 0.86-svn isn't Universal... it is Intel only:

    Picture 1.png

    I'll see if I find the link to where I got it... :)

    Edit: There's a link to a Intel version of 0.85 on the VLC pages (when I go in using an Intel Mac). Edit2: But as far as I remember that one was really buggy... I have tried it and it made me go look for a newer version...

    Edit3: Here we are, among the nightly builds. (I've been running the one from July 2nd without any major issues.)
     
  22. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #22
    Thanks, will have to give it a go when I get home.
     
  23. macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #23
    Has anyone had any luck accessing the Big Brother Live Stream with Flip4Mac installed in QT? It crashes Safari and Camino when I try, and if I put the URL straight into QT, http://geo.channel4.com/player/v2/asx/showvideofeature.jsp?id=show:285:356 it crashes that too! :(

    I was hoping to finally be able to watch Big Brother on my Mac. I hate Channel 4 with a passion for ditching Real and using Windows Media 10 streaming. Argh!
     
  24. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #24
    I think that the BB feed (as with almost all C4 web stuff) is DRM protected. Flip4mac doesn't support WM DRM so that would explain the problem.
     
  25. macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #25
    Urgh, it doesn't? Things like this make it so easy to hate Microsoft.

    It's ultra-crap that the link just crashes whatever program I try and open it in!
     

Share This Page