Flip4Mac on intel macs?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Lustaf, May 8, 2006.

  1. Lustaf macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    #1
    I am trying to get .wmv files to play through quicktime and I found flip4mac but it doesn't seem to support intel macs. I was wondering if there was a beta or something for intel macs, other applications or am I just outta luck with .wmv files?
     
  2. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #2
    There are many threads on this topic, but right now there is no native version of Flip4Mac. You can use the PPC version if you make Safari run in Rosetta. I haven't had any problems using that method.
     
  3. Lustaf thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    #3
    I'm sorry, I'm still very new to Mac's. How would I go about running Safari in Rosetta?
     
  4. Bubbasteve macrumors 65816

    Bubbasteve

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Location:
    Charleston, IL
    #4
    You don't know if Rosetta is running unless your app is Universal. Your Safari shouldn't need to run under Rosetta since it's Universal.

    ... or at least I don't think so.
     
  5. Josh396 macrumors 65816

    Josh396

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Peoria/Chicago, IL
    #5
    Go to your Applications folder and right click on Safari and click Get Info. Under the general section there will be a box to that you can click that will enable it to open in Rosetta.
     
  6. jamesmcd macrumors 6502a

    jamesmcd

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #6
    Just use Windows Media Player under Rosetta. What's with the colour btw?
     
  7. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #7
    But if you want to use the PPC Flip4Mac plugin, I believe you also have to run PPC Safari in Rosetta.

    But I don't have an Intel Mac, so don't put too much stock in what I say on such matters.
     
  8. Josh396 macrumors 65816

    Josh396

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Peoria/Chicago, IL
    #9
    Nope, you're right.
     
  9. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #10
    There's another WMV component for QuickTime, and it's Intel-compatible. Unfortunately I can't recall the name of it, and I'm at work so I can't just look in my QuickTime folder :(
     
  10. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #11
    Is it Popwire, perhaps? It's Universal, and while a license is $49.95, that's only for exporting things. You can view as much content as you want for free.

    I obviously haven't used it though, so I can't comment on its usability.
     
  11. Josh396 macrumors 65816

    Josh396

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Peoria/Chicago, IL
    #12
    I can't recall the name either but I believe it wouldn't support any streaming through any browsers. I'm hoping either Flip4Mac fixes their issues or the one you mention does sometime soon because I would like to see it work.
     
  12. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #13
    Yeah, it's Popwire. Telestream have announced forthcoming Intel support.
     
  13. Malcster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #14
    Apparently Flip4mac demonstrated a working intel build at NAB, there will be a beta this quarter (when exactly they don't say...)
     
  14. milkdev macrumors member

    milkdev

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Germany
    #15
    There will be a closed beta starting within the next days (probably even today).

    You may apply here: http://www.flip4mac.com/fusetalk/forum/messageview.aspx?catid=26&threadid=1234

    But you better hurry up if you want to participate...
     

Share This Page