Flirting with buying a MacPro... what to do with PC

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Chrispy, Oct 12, 2006.

1. Chrispy macrumors 68020

Chrispy

Hey all. Ok... I am flirting with the idea of buying a macpro. I am looking at the $1999 model on macconnection but I may spring for the $2349 model (after rebate) that has the faster processors and bigger HDD. My question is what I should do with my PC.

The PC is very new and is in a very nice Antec tower. It has a Core 2 Duo CPU and 2GB ram as well as a very fast 250GB HDD (which I would probably swap with whatever is included in the macpro). Should I make the PC a file server? Also, can I make it a web server and have it host a webpage as well as files that I can access from anywhere (such as work). Also, I listen to iTunes at work so would it be possible for me to access my music collection from the PC at home and play them at work.

I am very new to all of this so any help would be appreciated. What apps would I need to make this happen? Should I use Windows of Linux as the main OS to host files/webpages/etc? Thanks in advance for your opinions/help.

Oh, and I have a decent speed cable internet connection at home.

2. wchong macrumors 6502

or u could give it to me :D

j/k
    just keep it as a backup server

3. Umbongo macrumors 601

Umbongo

Seems like a big waste for a file server, as a webserver if you aren't going to be serving much beyond personal files you may as well just use your mac pro. Do you play games? Keep it as a dedicated gaming rig if so, or sell it and put the money towards getting the best mac pro you can.

4. Veritas&Equitas macrumors 68000

Veritas&Equitas

No kidding Umbongo. That'd be the biggest waste of a file server I've ever seen...that thing has POWER. Use it strictly as a gaming rig, or sell it for some dough. If it has a decent graphics card, (and by decent I mean a minimum of 7800 GT) you could get at least $750 for it via CL I'm sure...

5. dmw007 macrumors G4