Folding 3.25 out...well kinda

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by MrMacMan, Apr 23, 2003.

  1. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #1
    here yah go

    It *might* have some bugs and such so you might not want download untill a little later.

    This acually give *gasp* gromac units which are as I hear altivec usable....

    Incase I'm way off look in this thread

    Well I'm sorta ontop of folding too much...bah, whatever. :cool:

    edit: too late...
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #2
    Interesting indeed...

    I'll have to check this out at the lab tomorrow.

    It will be nice to see some "free" extra output for all us Mac teams. :)
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #3
    Yes indeed, un-luckily I got a 70 point unit and I can't test this for a while... :(
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #4
    so when can we expect to see dual processor scripts on this?

    D
     
  5. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #5
    I've told mc68k about it, so sometime in the next day or two, depending on his school work...
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #6
    it's a matter of changing .24 to .25 and maybe a -verbosity switch.

    ...and the fact that most ppl are crunching off the old ones, so i'll have to do something that wont delete everything.

    i could prob get it done today provided stanford did everything right. i saw .25 last night but decided to watch a movie hours into the night instead of looking more at folding.
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    FelixDerKater

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    #7
    Same here. I looked on the points list and this WU has a 50 day return limit. :eek:
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #8
    Yeah, I was pissed because this is a new type of protein that they Just released so I don't want to dump it. :(

    It has some weird long name... 'p639_L939_K12M_nat'

    I'm sure it will take FOREVER! :(
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #9
    update

    okay i tried it but it gives me 633 every time, which is not gromacs-- even if i specify the -advmethods. from reading the thread linked from this thread, it seems that .25 just fixes some bugs/logging issues but does not do anything with gromacs yet. :(

    i guess it's going to be a few more days b4 they start distributing gromacs via -advmethods. but don't take my word for it, read the thread linked from this thread.

    so it's sort of pointless for me to update anything until i actually see gromacs. the developers say they will realease a way to get gromacs every time, so be patient.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #10
    Re: update

    WHOOPS! :rolleyes:

    I forgot something major didn't I...

    ah ha! the new core...

    I *think* that the new core allows gromac units... just don't take my word on it...

    Since the new core there the, 78, was given 2 days ago... I think that is the new one.
     
  11. macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #11
    is it a blue moon again?

    wow a rare semi-useful post from mr. macman

    thanks :rolleyes:
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #12
    Re: is it a blue moon again?

    hey, no reason to be nasty now.

    Its not like I was yelling at you to update the script or something... I was giving info.
     
  13. macrumors 68020

    howard

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    #13
    someone speak plain english to me?...hehe

    whats gromacs anyway? and basically...what am i supposed to download to make my mac fold faster?
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #14
    Re: update

    Hey guys that is exactly what I got out of reading the disscussions group on the new release @ Stanford. Think they will let us test the new release for a couple of days then they will release Gromacs capability. Not sure if this will be automatic though.

    Macs4Me
     
  15. macrumors 68000

    Stelliform

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    #15
    I am running 3.25 and the feedback is finally like the PC version. Here is an example....

    [19:53:02] Version 3.8 October 2000
    [19:53:02] Copyright (c) Jay William Ponder 1990-2000
    [19:53:02] portions Copyright (c) Michael Shirts 2001
    [19:53:02] portions Copyright (c) Vijay S Pande 2001
    [20:05:16] Finished a frame (1)
    [20:18:15] Finished a frame (2)
    [20:30:52] Finished a frame (3)

    While 12 Minutes a Frame isn't exciting, at least I now know how long a frame is taking. :)
     
  16. thread starter macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #16
    ha, for me it is like 1 hour - 2 frames, god damn 70 pointers.
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    me hate windows

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    #17
    i use the text client, but I dont know how to do the advanced gizmos. How do you get into the -advmethods stuff? and what can you change in it? And do I need that new core to use Gromacs? Which one do you download



    Sorry for being stupid.
     
  18. macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #18
    'is this going to work with the screensaver?' is my question. i just don't like running the background CLI client. the screensaver is much better for me, so its only running when i'm not there. i installed the 3.25 screensaver, is there more i should do?
     
  19. macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #19
    for me -advmethods has not worked. i tried it with the core78 in my folder and i tried it without, but every time it's like i didn't even use it.

    -local will use the current directory for the data files.
     
  20. macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #20
    no you're all set. as far as using the new core, that won't happen as it's still in beta and has to be induced with -advmethods. i don't think the screensaver wil do this by default, so you'll just have to wait til the new core goes into full rotation.
     
  21. macrumors 68010

    evoluzione

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    down the road, that's where i'll always be
    #21
    ok, i'm kinda lost here. i was all happy with meself as i finally joined you guys in the folding thing. i just installed 4 brand spanking new 1.42DP macs at work (i love my job :) ) and thought that they'd help in the folding, so i saw the new release and downloaded it, but now i'm thinking it wasn't worth it??? :confused:
     
  22. macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #22
    okay here's the skinny from stanford...

    so be patient. i don't want to release scripts that might have issues that i couldn't test for.

    evoluzione: it's not like 3.25 does much different from 3.24 at this point, so u can still help the team by running non-gromacs 3.24 or 3.25.
     
  23. macrumors 68010

    evoluzione

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    down the road, that's where i'll always be
    #23
    Re: okay here's the skinny from stanford...


    sweet, now all i gotta do is figure out what the hell everyone just said in this thread :D
     
  24. thread starter macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #24
    Re: Re: okay here's the skinny from stanford...

    Just wait a week to see if there are some gaping (which their shouldn't be) errors or glitches.

    Basically they fixed time stamping and added gromac.
     
  25. macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #25
    well...it seems that i am finishing a frame every 18 minutes when the screensaver is on. am i to assume that when the new fah core is ready the screensaver will automatically download and use it?? i tried replacing the 65 core with the 78 core but it just redownloaded the 65. what the deal?
     

Share This Page