Folding@Home GPU3 Console Client

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by RiskyMr, Jan 13, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    #1
    Hi All,

    Is there a Folding@Home GPU3 console client? On the downloads page I can only find a system tray client for GPU3.

    Cheers,
    RiskyMr
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Hi,

    There are links to Vista and XP clients in the following folding forum thread:
    http://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=14671&p=144510#p144510

    Are you planning on folding in windows or wine? I had the GPU2 client working briefly under darwine in OS X, but I've only managed to get the GPU3 working with wine in linux.

    Hope that helps

    Rob
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    #3
    That works. Thanks.

    I'm folding on a Windows 7 machine. (Haven't tried on my MacBook yet.)

    Cheers,
    RiskyMr
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    karsten

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
  5. macrumors G5

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    Anyone know how I can make the GPU2 core run on my machine? It has 2 HD5850s. I downloaded the client but it says my GPUs aren't supported....:confused:
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Hi jav6454,

    Have you tried adding the -forcegpu ati_r700 flag?

    I'm guessing that the 58 series cards were newer than the GPU2 client, so they aren't recognised by default.

    I'm assuming that this is under windows with the latest catalyst drivers?

    Hope that helps

    Rob
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    #7
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    #8
    Also note that for the the HD 5850 card you'll want to use the -forcegpu ati_r800 flag.

    •ATI 3xxx series: -forcegpu ati_r600
    •ATI 4xxx series: -forcegpu ati_r700
    •ATI 5xxx series: -forcegpu ati_r800 (v6.30 or newer)
     
  9. macrumors G5

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #9
    I downloaded the GUI client version, which doesn't even start because it automatically says "Unsupported GPU". Hence, I don't even get to use the -forcegpu at_r700 flag.

    Any links to the console client version (CMD Prompt)? I looked but only saw the GPU and GPU2 GUI clients on the FAH downloads page for high performance clients. I did see GPU3 download but did use that since it said ATI cards are not supported at the moment. But if has been updated I'll give that a try.

    Yes, this in in Windows 7 under the latest Catalyst Drivers.

    Thanks for the help.
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Hi,

    there looks to be a GPU2 console client for vista (and I assume windows 7 as well) on the downloads page:

    http://www.stanford.edu/group/pandegroup/folding/release/Folding@home-Win32-GPU_Vista-623.zip

    but as RiskyMr says, there should be support in the GPU3 client for the newer ATI cards using the ati_r800 (sorry, it's not _700 that I said earlier). I think that the most up to date list of compatible cards is maintained here:

    http://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?p=158849#p158849

    Hope that helps

    Rob
     
  11. macrumors G5

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #11
    OK, so I downloaded the client. I am using the Command Prompt. However, the fahgpu client only is making one of my 5850s work, the other is there idle.

    Any help how to make that lazy one work? I've read that I need to make another folder and copy/paste the client there and make it run again. However, Catalyst Center says that the 5850 is disabled. However, if I re-enable CrossFire it works fine.

    Help?
     
  12. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    Yeah, you'll need to run two console clients to use both cards - one with a -gpu 0 flag and the other with a -gpu 1 flag.

    I don't know it things have changed with regards to crossfire / SLI, but when I was using windows 7 RC with two nvidia cards, I had to have a monitor plugged into both cards and enable desktop spanning to get both to fold and not use SLI.
    However, the later clients / drivers I think support SLI being enabled (although they don't actually use it) - it may well be the same with crossfire.

    Hope that helps

    Rob
     
  13. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    #13
  14. macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #14

Share This Page