Folding@home...

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by iMax531, Jul 29, 2003.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Location:
    SF Bay Area/JHU
    #1
    Hey everyone. I've been surfng this site for a long long time, probably over two years now, and I had an account which I rarely used, and since I started it my email has changed, I forgot my password, etc...

    Anyway, I decided it was time to start a new account. Anyhow, my first question is about folding, as the title would suggest:

    I downloaded the graphic client from the stanford website, and I have it running for team 3446... But I haven't shown up on the Macrumors team website, and I'va had it running for a little while now and the progress bar is still 0.0... is this normal?

    If not, what the heck am I doing wrong?

    Thanks.

    -iMax
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    britboy

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #2
    First off, that isn't normal. What are the specs of the computer you're running folding on? Secondly, you won't show up on the stats pages until after you've submitted your first work unit. That normally takes about an hour to update.

    If you have any other questions, check the folding@home FAQ.
    Also, for future reference, there's a forum dedicated to distributed computing, here :)
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Location:
    SF Bay Area/JHU
    #3
    folding

    I left it running overnight, about 8 hours, and I;m at 12.8 percent, and it's using a good 80-90% of my cpu, and I'm running this on a Powerbook G4 1Ghz with 1GB of RAM, so it should be running pretty quick...


    is 12.8 percent for eight hours normalish?
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Vlade

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Meadville, PA
    #4
    Re: folding

    It depends on what work unit, what is the units name? They are all different.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Location:
    SF Bay Area/JHU
    #5
    protein name

    the name of it is p909_vill_str0

    I'm assuming it's just a large or complex one. After about 10 hours now, it's 15% done... I guess It's working ok.

    thanks!
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    britboy

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #6
    Re: protein name


    If you check the stanford project summary page, you'll see your protein near the bottom of the list. It has a deadline of 11 days. At your current rate, you'll be done in about 3 days. Seems right to me.

    Glad to be of help :)
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Vlade

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Meadville, PA
    #7
    At one point I had the one right under it, 910, 57 points, and it was almost twice as fast as the 53 pointer i'm working on now, so 909 might be a fast one too.
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Location:
    NYC
    #8
    I was pretty happy when my machines picked up more 500K step WUs because I had received 50+ points for similiar WUs in the past. One of my machines gave birth to a 500K WU this morning and they only gave me 33 points. :mad:

    I have to remember to check the point assignments before feeling good about large work units.
     

Share This Page