Folding killed my PM

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by maxvamp, Jul 15, 2004.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    maxvamp

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Location:
    Somewhere out there
    #1
    Hello all,

    Sorry for the alarmist subject line, as my PM G3's death is not entirely Folding's fault.

    I was playing with the jumpers for my PM G3 400, and I set the clock speed to 450. Everything seemed good for a couple of days, so I set it up with Folding.

    Well, I came home that evening, and noticed that the machine no longer was running. I turned it off, then back on, and while the Power supply, and all drives initialized, there was no chime, and no action from the Main board/CPU. I dropped the jumpers back down to the original speed, and still nothing.

    My diagnosis is that I toasted the proc, which means I now can ask my wife ( with a straight face ) for a proc upgrade that I have been wanting for a while.

    But... Before I do, I was wondering if anyone had any hints or tips on things I may need to reset such as pram, etc.

    Thanx all,

    Max.

    P.S. I am not totally stressed, as this is kinda my use and abuse machine. My PM G4 DA, however is another story. :eek: :D

    Max.
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    Horrortaxi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #2
    Let's be honest here. Folding just put a load on your system. Had you not meddled it would have been fine. You killed your PM.

    Does the power switch light up? You might have wiped out the logic board instead of or in addition to the processor.
     
  3. macrumors 68030

    Hemingray

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Ha ha haaa!
    #3
    Nice! I overclocked my Yikes G4 400 to 450 using the jumpers, and it's run fine for over a year and a half running F@H literally 24/7. So I guess it's just a gamble.

    Personally, I wouldn't bother putting a processor upgrade in that thing. It, like my Yikes G4, is getting quite long in the tooth. I be saving up for a G5. :) If you did that, your G4 DA could be your new "use and abuse" machine. ;)
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    maxvamp

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Location:
    Somewhere out there
    #4
    Let me reiterate

    Folding was the catalyst, but not the cause.

    I do fold, mostly on my AMD64 3k+. I don't believe that it is a machine killer, but does make a nice benchmark and stress program as well.

    The point of this thread was to find out what other options I had to resurrect this machine, along side the CPU replacement.

    On the G5, I have to really ask... Why?

    Yes, it would be nice to have, but most of my Mac tasks are Word docs, some coding, very little video work, email, web, some elementary video games ( non - 3D ), and my DA seems to do the job really nicely.

    In my case $3k would be better spent elsewhere.

    Max.

    P.S. Thank you for the feedback I always appreciate it. :)
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    maxvamp

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Location:
    Somewhere out there
    #5
    Power light does come up. Is that a good thing,or a bad thing?

    Max.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Location:
    How'd I get here? How can I leave?
    #6
    <----[playing Taps and saluting]
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Excuse my ignorance but what is folding? :confused:
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    applemacdude

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Location:
    Over The Rainbow
    #8

    I think that your zif card was fried on the pm, not the whole motherboard...you can try replacing that
     
  9. macrumors 68020

    Horrortaxi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #9
    It's a good thing--or at least a better thing than it not coming on.
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #10
  11. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #11
    If you need a 400 MHz G3 from a Blue and White G3 that ran folding@home for 1.5 years without frying, let me know. ;)
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    maxvamp

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Location:
    Somewhere out there
    #12
    If your looking to sell..

    bousozoku

    I am definitly looking to get this machine running again.

    if you want, you can email me at maxvamp@comcast.net and perhaps we can work a deal.

    Thx.

    Max.

    -----------------------
    folding is good!!
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    maxvamp

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Location:
    Somewhere out there
    #13
    resolution

    I am glad I use this beast for a server.

    I was able to order a G3 300 from ebay for $5.

    The machine is happy once again.

    Now, time to update to a G4, and see what Gentoo Linux will do on this machine.

    Thanx again all,

    Max.
     
  14. macrumors P6

    wdlove

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    #14
  15. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    maxvamp

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Location:
    Somewhere out there
    #15
    Yes, Do!!

    I have run folding @ home on many machines, and plan on doing more in the future. Of all the machines I have folded on, this was the first that died, and I am thinking that this proc had problems to begin with.

    My new 300 MHz proc is faster than my 400MHz machine was.

    Please fold, as my Alzheimer's is acting up, and we will soon need a cure.

    Max.
     
  16. macrumors 68030

    Hemingray

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Ha ha haaa!
    #16
    Are you serious...? :eek:
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Dekalb IL
    #17
    Maybe this is a dumb question..... but what the crap is folding? I have heard lots about it, and I must just be confused or something. Thanks

    edit- k, nevermind, i read the post above... sorry.
     
  18. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    maxvamp

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Location:
    Somewhere out there
    #18
    I don't remember

    Around my house, it is common to make the comment 'my Alzheimer's is acting up' When we forget something ( usually quite important ).

    It is the levity that gets us past the fact that dementia does run in both sides of the family.

    I feel strongly about folding for obvious reasons. If anyone has taken offence to the comment, I am sorry.

    Thank you all for the input.

    Max.

    ---------------------
    Herman Munster for Prez!!! (?)
     
  19. macrumors 68030

    Hemingray

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Ha ha haaa!
    #19
    Heheh, oh okay. I'm not offended, I was just worried, I thought maybe you actually had Alzheimer's! My grandfather has it, but that doesn't stop me from enjoying Eric Idle's Alzheimer's answering machine recording. Keep folding guys! :)

    This looks promising, too:
    http://cnn.com/2004/HEALTH/conditions/07/22/alzheimers.drugs.reut/index.html

    (P.S. The "Herman Munster for Prez" shot came from here: http://www.jibjab.com/ Pretty funny... :D bashes both sides.)
     

Share This Page