Folding on a dual G5

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by iMax531, Nov 18, 2003.

  1. iMax531 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Location:
    SF Bay Area/JHU
    #1
    I've been running the folding app on my G5, and it seems like it's only utilizing one processor. If I run two apps at the same time, will that allow me to fold more and faster? Am I gonna burn this thing out?
     
  2. Makosuke macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #2
    I assume you're not using the MacRumors special installer (check the Distributed Computing forum); if you run the normal version of folding, you'll only end up running one client, which only uses one processor.

    With the extra-cool installer a forum member came up with, you'll end up with two Folding processes running simultaneously, which will take full advantage of your DP machine.

    I wouldn't worry about toasting your G5, but do keep in mind that unlike with some other machines the G5s use a LOT more power when they're working hard--the difference between about 170W at idle and 325W with both processors maxed out with Folding. It tears through work units if the additional power bill is worth it to you.
     
  3. iMax531 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Location:
    SF Bay Area/JHU
    #3
    gracias.

    and as for the power, i have dorm life to thank.
     
  4. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #4
    Sweet!

    And here I'm folding on a G3 400 B&W. This is slow....:D
     
  5. iMax531 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Location:
    SF Bay Area/JHU
    #5
    there are only two words for the dual G5, and indeed, really any G5 -

    Awe-inspiring.

    Now pardon me, while I go awe.
     

Share This Page