Folding Questions

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by mj_1903, Jan 10, 2004.

  1. mj_1903 macrumors 6502a

    mj_1903

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #1
    Right now I am doing dnetc and have been having second thoughts about it because its just a giant contest with no real goal.

    So here are the questions:
    - How good would these machines be at folding (iBook 500, PowerMac G4 400, PowerMac Dual 867, AlBook 1Ghz, eMac 1Ghz, PowerMac G5 Dual 1.8, PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0)
    - Is it worth it folding on a Mac as opposed to a PC?
    - How effective is the altivec optimizations to the core and how would one go about enabling them?

    I would especially like to hear from mc68k as he is crunching on my dnetc team. Hopefully I can join you guys if its favorable enough.

    Thanks for your help,

    Mat
     
  2. jbg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    #2
    Well if you used the mc68k scripts to set all of yours up and ran them 24/7, I estimate you will put out about 4000 points per week on the average. You will want to set it for gormac cores of course.

    I have been tracking most of my (machines) and the following is based on ones with like chips and speeds. Actual points will depend on the projects that are assigned, some are very fast and some are dogs, but on the average this should be close.

    G52x2 ~ 8+ PPH (points per hour)
    G51.8x2 ~ 7.2+ PPH
    G4(400) ~ .8 PPH
    G4(867)x2 ~ 3.5+ PPH
    PB1000 ~ 2 PPH
    eMac1000 ~ 2 PPH
    G3(500) ~ .4 PPH

    About 23.9 PPH x 168 = 4015 per week!

    At that pace you would fly by me in about 8 or 9 weeks along with shemp9999. So how soon can you be ready?

    :D
     
  3. mj_1903 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mj_1903

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #3
    So your saying I would be quite competitive with that setup? How competitive with PC's would I be?

    Thanks again,

    Mat
     
  4. Selecter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Location:
    West Virginia
    #4
    yeah, he likes it :D

    The G5's are certanly comp with the fastest PC's. I ran my Dual 1.8 G5 against my AMD XP3000+ for a solid week. The G5 using the old 3.25 client. At a 330 Mhz speed disadvantage ( I started the PC @ 2366 but soon got errors and had to back it down to standard 2.17) the G5 was very slightly slower than the AMD but of course I was running 2 WU's at the same time.

    With the new gromacs core the G4's and G5 are very good. I would drop the G3 from the lineup if it were me but thats yur call.

    I am still dead in the water here, I didnt get as much done over the weekend as I had hoped, but someone ( cant remember who) stepped on the gas with a bunch more CPU's in the meantime and the Knights are gonna be history here very soon. :D
     
  5. jbg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    #5
  6. mj_1903 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mj_1903

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #6
    Thanks for your help guys. I think I am convinced. If everything goes well in the transfer (using mc68k's scripts) I might move 12 iMac 1Ghz over as well.

    Where can I find stats pages to see how I am going?

    Mat
     
  7. Thom_Edwards macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
  8. ExoticFish macrumors 6502a

    ExoticFish

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Location:
    The inner depths of madness, aka Kent, OH
    #8
    i just starting folding tonight. right now i've got my 1GHz 12" AlBook, both my 700MHz linux, and my 1.7 GHz windows workstations at work. when i get home i'll add my Athlon 2400+ to the list and see if there's anything else i can start folding with.

    should i turn down the number of polygons per atom to speed things up?
     
  9. Selecter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Location:
    West Virginia
    #9
    Yeah i would. Basically anything that steals clock cycles like drawing da pretty pix of da protein on da screen is to be avoided ;) but it's totally up to you. The graph client is the easiest to get going.

    Thanks fer folding. :D
     
  10. mj_1903 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mj_1903

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #10
    I am switching my PowerMac Dual 867, PowerMac 400 and PowerBook 1Ghz over later today.

    How effective would an Athlon 3200 or Athlon64 be at folding? Would it be better than my G5?
     
  11. Selecter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Location:
    West Virginia
    #11
    both would be very effective. I used my AxP3000+ for the test week I was on and the AMD rocked. I dont think the A64 will do any better than yer 32 bit Athlon becuase I dont believe the current client knows anything about 64 bit-ness, but it will do about the same as yer 32 bit chip.

    yer G5 if a dually is a folding monster, becuase it will do WU's at about the same rate as your Athlons but X2. if a single, it will still be a fast folder, so what's not to like?

    I like your stable of machines there, I wish I had those kind of choices. :D
     
  12. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #12
    Yeah those machines are very nice.

    Folding Monsters.


    :D

    Hook those puppys up.
     
  13. mj_1903 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mj_1903

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #13
    Switching tonight at least 3 G4's. I just sold a 2x2.0Ghz G5 and will be replacing it with a high end G5 when the next revision is done.

    As for other CPU's, hopefully tomorrow I will hook up another Dual G5 and 12 G4 1ghz. Hopefully I can assist nicely.
     
  14. mmmdreg macrumors 65816

    mmmdreg

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #14
    I've been on mj_1903's TheLittleAppFactory alias under team xlr8yourmac for dnetc for quite a while. And as he is jumping ship, I may too.

    I have a lab of 30 G3 iMacs and about 15 2.8GHz P4's at my disposal. Would they be any help to the cause I wonder?
     
  15. britboy macrumors 68030

    britboy

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #15
    Let's see.....in excess of 40GHz? Yup, that might help the cause ;)

    If you have them going 24/7 they might even help you into the top 3 :eek:
     
  16. mmmdreg macrumors 65816

    mmmdreg

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #16
    I might split 'em half-half for folding and dnetc depending on how mj_1903 goes. :D We'll see.
     
  17. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #17
    Hmmmm, this explains quite nicely why we are skyrocketing the last couple of weeks! Go team!!
     
  18. ExoticFish macrumors 6502a

    ExoticFish

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Location:
    The inner depths of madness, aka Kent, OH
    #18
    so far i've been folding for about a week and i've done 11 WU's so far! i've been surprised at how my machines have been performing.
     
  19. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #19
    Even at half/half that would be a VERY nice setup.

    Please feel free to ask any of us how to set that up!


    :eek:


    Thanks mmmdreg!
    :D
     
  20. latergator116 macrumors 68000

    latergator116

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    #20
    hmm... I downloaded the one that takes place in the terminal and now it is not doing anything. it says"[16:23:18] Completed 0 out of 250000 steps (0)" and it is not giving me any update. Did I do something wrong?:confused:
     
  21. jbeetz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    #21
    Probably not... patience is in order. Depending on your machine, it can take between 5 minutes and a couple of hours to complete enough work to be reported in the terminal.

    Welcome to the "fold", as they say!
     
  22. latergator116 macrumors 68000

    latergator116

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    #22
    Ah damn... I just deleted it and installed seti@home. oh well, maybe another time.:(
     
  23. britboy macrumors 68030

    britboy

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #23

    Perhaps you could just go with the f@h graphical client? It's pretty much guaranteed to work with no fuss. You can get that one from the stanford page.
     
  24. latergator116 macrumors 68000

    latergator116

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    #24
    I think I will stick with seti@home for now. Maybe when I get tired of this I will try f@h.
     
  25. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #25
    Typ "start" or "work" in the terminal, if you see a time coming up, that is the time when it started! So you know it's working!
     

Share This Page