folding: remote stats per computer?

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by bertinman, Jun 26, 2003.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    #1
    I have a problem, probably not a big problem in the eyes of some, but still it bothers me.

    a week ago i was making almost 1700 points a day, now Im not turning in units every few hours. I know all the machines are on, but for some reason my production drops. is there a way to get folding stats from each computer remotely that anyone knows of?

    tomorrow I plan to start writing a script that asks each computer if folding is running, and also check the unit info file. then make a little database for what computers are playing nice :)

    mc68k, rower, do you guys have any info on the subject?

    (hope there is, and therefore shorten my time spent on it)

    - bert
     
  2. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #2
    Well since these are your computers, why not install a back door?

    I mean if they weren't *Your* computers I would never sugest this, but this is the easiest.

    Edit: Grammar, I'm a moron...
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    #3
    kinda what i had in mind. these computers are in low/no secure areas so i can do what i want to them, mess them up, wipe them and re-image in a few hours.

    still, just wondering if anyone tried such a thing. that way i won't be starting for extreme scratch.

    - bert
     
  4. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #4
    Eh, yeah I messed my grammar up there...
    I'm not sure if Rower, Mc68k have because the computers are in their labs...
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    #5
    im in the same situation as they are really. labs full of computers at a university.

    im not spending much time in the time these days though, so i wanted to check remotely.

    -bert
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #6
    i think oc au or oc.com has a gui that does something similar to what u want

    i believe it was mentioned here b4, i can look 4 it
     
  7. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #7
    bousozoku has also mentioned making some sort of app that tracks remote F@H clients. That kind of app would be key for monitoring labs like ours.
     
  8. Moderator emeritus

    eyelikeart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Location:
    Metairie, LA
    #8
    I wish I could have done some sort of remote access to the DP at my old job. I know they switched over to OS 9 & likely back to X because my folding performance is pathetic now. :(
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    #9
    ssh maybe?

    not recommending hacking into past jobs' computers though ;)

    since most of my comps are windows, I plan to just make a hindden shared folder on each comp with access from from administrator and a dummy account only for folding. log into each computer and check the stats. this won't tell me everything i want to know, but will let me know how long ago a computer downloaded a WU and what its progress is.

    - bert
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    #10
    found something...

    DCMonitor

    it works pretty well, kinda slow when you do a manual refresh if you have over 50 comps.

    im still in the test phase of it.

    - bert
     

    Attached Files:

    • asd.jpg
      asd.jpg
      File size:
      46.5 KB
      Views:
      71
  11. macrumors 6502a

    jimthorn

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA, USA
    #11
    That's pretty cool, bert. I'm curious to hear how well that works for you and how easy it is to set up. I've been putting F@H on some of the PCs at my work (they don't care), and I'd love to be able to monitor progress from one station.
     
  12. macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #12
    i thought about this after i went to compusa today. appletalk is on and there is no passwrd.

    if the computers arent on some kind of a router (which i assume they are), then i could enable ssh and i would own the machines forever. remote dual 1.42 for all my needs
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    #13
    That would funny :D. but if someone with a working brain cell who worked there (and cared...) saw that, I think you'd get in trouble.

    It requires a network location of the files like \\comp\c$\progra~1\foldin~1 to find out the stats. you could always make a share avail to everyone, but if you don't you need admin priv to get to the c$ share. to make it trickier, most machines have different admin passwords. this means that only the machines with the same password will get stats. to fix this, just log into the other machines to the c$ share and plug in the correct admin password and it stores it for later use...by DCMonitor :D.

    - bert

    (so far its been good, has a webpage output too which i only briefly tested.)
     
  14. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #14
    bert-
    Are you setting up the machines by workgroup name or IP?
     
  15. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    #15
    I used computer names

    ie:

    computer with name IBM00 gets an entry of,

    name, IBM00
    location to find stats, \\IBM00\c$\progra~1\foldin~1
    type, Folding@Home

    I think you can use IPs as well, but if you have a WINS server you shouldn't need to. Alot of these computers are on DHCP right now because of some subnet switcheroos going on here.

    are you and mc68k trying it out as well? :cool:

    if so, a fast and easy way to add a bunch of computers is to edit the inf file. I have comps with numbers 00 to 43, so i made an excel sheet that incremented the comp names and cut and pasted it into the inf file :).

    when i go to work tomorrow i'll let you all know how things turned out over night with the prog.

    - bert
     
  16. macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #16
    i hope ur output goes up again, it was sucking there for a while

    i run a lot of headless machines, so this program would be a lot better solution than plugging in a physical kvm in for each of them
     
  17. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    #17
    me too, and stays. I got 1.2k today. :D this program let me find a few comps that wouldn't keep the folding@home service running once someone logged out. very wierd and not fixed yet.

    I don't have any headless comps, only comps locked in closed student labs ;).

    Im going to ask my new boss if I can install F@H in one his labs, *crosses fingers*.

    also today, I found out that UC Davis has a Mac OSX SIG and a couple people from Apple come by every month and talk with the members about stuff. One more club to join :).

    - bert
     
  18. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #18
    Yes yes...I don't have things working yet. Sorry.
     
  19. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #19
    No pressure, it's just that we had chatted about it recently. :)
     
  20. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #20
    I want it to work more than you do.
     

Share This Page