Folding Team turns up the heat!

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by RugoseCone, Feb 25, 2005.

  1. RugoseCone macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    #1
    Wow! We're really cranking this week. With the return of BlackAdder and some influx of new members we're over the 50k a day mark pretty consistently.

    The milestones list on the right side of the EO stats page has been growing too. Seems more people are sticking with it...

    http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/team_summary.php?s=&t=3446

    We just need to keep the new blood flowing into the team and perhaps we can claw our way back into the top twenty teams...
     
  2. stubeeef macrumors 68030

    stubeeef

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    #2
    Ya, looks like we pushed the Knights who say ni to atleast june, yea! Hope to get my ole dual 450 up on it this weekend and an old G3 imac too - that would give me 6 processors!

    Yes I am on the milestone list, and in the over 100pts a day club!


    Stroke, Stroke, Stroke, Stroke, Stroke, Stroke, Stroke, Stroke, Stroke, Stroke, :p
     
  3. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #3
    Don't be too optimistic guys, I think it's time for...Tinkertime. Today I already received a couple of them, and usually it stays that way for a while. :(
     
  4. brap macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Location:
    Nottingham
    #4
    My ~140/day will be stopping fairly soon, hopefully for not too long. :(

    I have sitting next to me a shiny new Winchester core, retail boxed, 939 Athlon 64, and no bloody motherboard to put it in, since ebuyer.com are trying to [expletive deleted] with me!

    It really is a very pretty box, though. *sigh*
     
  5. RugoseCone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    #5
    Anything but those damned p724's is fine with me!
     
  6. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #6
    Yesterday, I got one 724 and a tinker from the 1100 series. Now both procs have 1100 series (s)tinker. This ain't good! I want the 1300 series tinkers, they rule! My G5 finishes them very fast and you'll get a lot of points for them. That's why my my production was about twice/threetimes as normal for the last two weeks! they are SWEET! ;)
     
  7. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #7
    I have two. One is unattended as a service on a Windows box, the other is my iMac.
     
  8. sparkleytone macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #8
    I'm going to be adding a 2.4GHz P4 with HT and a 733MHz P3 in the next few days. Both running Linux. I don't know how much power that provides, but I do know every bit helps :)
     
  9. sparkleytone macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #9
    I think I have a problem. I just set it up on both machines, and it seems I have been given the same work unit on both. Is this bad?
     
  10. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #10
    today i celebrate 300,000 points for team 3446. woo-hoo!
     
  11. RugoseCone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    #11
    Not at all...

    It just saw fit to send the same work unit to both of your machines.
     
  12. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #12
    '
    That is just the one in your current work queue. It splits up after that.
     
  13. phrancpharmD macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Location:
    Historic Norcross
    #13
    well, I'm not a stoner, er, MILEstoner, but I have ranked at about #120 for several months (maybe a year?) now with my G4 iBook and whatever crappy wintel minibox I'm forced to use at work. At least it's good for something. . .
     
  14. sjpetry macrumors 65816

    sjpetry

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Location:
    Tamarindo, Costa Rica
    #14
    I just started this week. :D :cool:

    But Ican't find my stats. :(

    My username is sjpetry.
     
  15. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #15
    They're not necessarily the same although the name may be the same. Other characteristics may differ.
     
  16. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #16
    You don't show up in the newbie list, perhaps you haven't turned a WU in yet. Or you aren't folding for our team? You did fill in teamnumber 3441?
     
  17. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #17
    He might have but MacRumors team number is 3446. ;)
     
  18. stubeeef macrumors 68030

    stubeeef

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    #18
    do you mean 3446?!

    edit: you're fast bousozoku!
     
  19. sjpetry macrumors 65816

    sjpetry

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Location:
    Tamarindo, Costa Rica
    #19
    Can I change any options so I can help MR more. :)

    I use the screen saver one for folding.


    I'm on team 3446. :)
     
  20. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #20
    Oeps... Sorry, it was late yesterday!
     
  21. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #21
    If you install the script instead it will run at boot up and will only user idle process which means it will not slow down your computer when you use it. :)
     
  22. stubeeef macrumors 68030

    stubeeef

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    #22
    Pushed the knights back a couple of months! Who ever did that was sure awesome! Good work! :D
     
  23. RugoseCone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    #23
    Ummmmm....

    You.

    And a couple hundred of your closest friends...
     
  24. GeeYouEye macrumors 68000

    GeeYouEye

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Location:
    State of Denial
    #24
    I'm slowly crawling back up the ladder... once, a long time ago, I was 100... then came about 6 huge Tinkers which were too much for my iMac DV+ and they tied up my computer for the better part of a year, and something happened to all but the last one to cause them to fail and I got no points for it. I fell to the low 600s. But now, I'm back to the 121 spot, and still climbing.

    BTW, I'd be climbing even faster if I could get F@H to run two processes simultaneously on my P4 w/Hyperthreading, under WinXP. Every time I try to install the console version, it just ends up being the output for the graphical version I have running in the background. If anyone has any pointers on how to get this working, I'd appreciate it.
     
  25. atszyman macrumors 68020

    atszyman

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    The Dallas 'burbs
    #25
    I've done this on my work machine. You will only see about a 15% increase in productivity due to the fact that Hyperthreading is still only one processor, just two instruction pipelines.

    1. You cannot have the GUI running.
    2. You will need 2 copies of the console app in different folders.
    3. Run the console app from each folder with the -local and -config option
    4. When asked if you want to change advanced options type y or yes
    5. Set the processor ID of one of the console apps to 0 the other to 1 (or 1 and 2 I can't remember if it's zero indexed or not)
    6. Once configuration is done when you need to restart you only need the -local flag.

    Hope this helps.
     

Share This Page