Folding??? Why so slow??

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by Falleron, May 30, 2002.

  1. Falleron macrumors 68000

    Falleron

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    I am running a Dual 1Ghz machine + it takes SO long to complete a unit!! I am also running SETI. Here is my setup:

    1 SETI Client - appox 66% cpu usage
    2 Folding clients taking the rest of the CPU usage 133% appox.

    The progress bars increase so slowly. I am seriously considering going back to SETI 100% of the time!!! Why so slow??
     
  2. Falleron thread starter macrumors 68000

    Falleron

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Location:
    UK
  3. me hate windows macrumors 6502

    me hate windows

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    #3
    Probably just a lot if data to go through. Or it might not be coded to run more efficiently.
     
  4. iH8Quark macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Location:
    Big Shoulders
    #4
    we all secretly hate you.

    muahahaha :p :eek: ;) :D

    kidding of course. ;)
     
  5. AmbitiousLemon Moderator emeritus

    AmbitiousLemon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Location:
    down in Fraggle Rock
    #5
    although this doesnt answer your questions you might get 'some' help going to the other thread on this, people there seem just as confused as you though, but maybe it will help a bit link
     
  6. mmmdreg macrumors 65816

    mmmdreg

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #6
    it really depends on the unit doesnt it? I mean, some take mulitple times as long as others to get completed..
     

Share This Page