Folding with the Console, HELP?

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by Macmaniac, Mar 27, 2004.

  1. Macmaniac macrumors 68040

    Macmaniac

    #1
    Ok I want to make a serious contribution, so I downloaded the console version of folding but I have some basic dumb questions. I have looked at the FAQ but I need a step by step process, I am completely a newb when it comes to the terminal.
    Ok question 1, I have the console version downloaded but how do I run it without having the terminal open(this scares my mom) I know mc68k has some scripts but when I launch them in the terminal they open a separate window, help?
    This is what my terminal looks like.
    # Mac OS X Edition ############################################################
    ###############################################################################

    Folding@home Client Version 4.00

    http://folding.stanford.edu

    ###############################################################################
    ###############################################################################



    [00:29:26] - Ask before connecting: No
    [00:29:26] - User name: Macmaniac (Team 3446)
    [00:29:26] - User ID = 1CFEBFD3120328C0
    [00:29:26] - Machine ID: 1
    [00:29:26]
    [00:29:26] Loaded queue successfully.
    [00:29:26] + Benchmarking ...
    [00:29:29]
    [00:29:29] + Processing work unit
    [00:29:29] Core required: FahCore_78.exe
    [00:29:29] Core found.
    [00:29:29] Working on Unit 06 [March 28 00:29:29]
    [00:29:29] + Working ...
    [00:29:30]
    [00:29:30] *------------------------------*
    [00:29:30] Folding@home Gromacs Core
    [00:29:30] Version 1.56 (December 23, 2003)
    [00:29:30]
    [00:29:30] Preparing to commence simulation
    [00:29:30] - Looking at optimizations...
    [00:29:30] - Files status OK
    [00:29:30] - Expanded 14746 -> 108745 (decompressed 737.4 percent)
    [00:29:31]
    [00:29:31] Project: 730 (Run 4, Clone 32, Gen 4)
    [00:29:31]
    [00:29:31] Assembly optimizations on if available.
    [00:29:31] Entering M.D.

    Gromacs is Copyright (c) 1991-2003, University of Groningen, The Netherlands
    This inclusion of Gromacs code in the Folding@Home Core is under
    a special license (see http://folding.stanford.edu/gromacs.html)
    specially granted to Stanford by the copyright holders. If you
    are interested in using Gromacs, visit www.gromacs.org where
    you can download a free version of Gromacs under
    the terms of the GNU General Public License (GPL) as published
    by the Free Software Foundation; either version 2 of the License,
    or (at your option) any later version.

    [00:29:51] (Starting from checkpoint)
    [00:29:51] Protein: p730_gsgs_sd_h2o
    [00:29:51]
    [00:29:51] Writing local files
    [00:29:51] Completed 3975000 out of 10000000 steps (39)
    [00:29:51] Testing CPU type...
    [00:29:51] Done testing.

    Do i have to copy the stuff from mc68k's script into this terminal window in order to have the program run auto matically.
    2. is there a script our there so folding runs only when I'm not using the computer, I don;t want folding stealing my processor power when I'm playing a game or doing a project.
    3. Should I turn energy saver prefs to never sleep so folding runs or will by having the script automatically keep the computer running

    Thanks for your help, please if you answer be specific I don;t know anything about the terminal, I only fix hardware, I'm not a programmer.
     
  2. Macmaniac thread starter macrumors 68040

    Macmaniac

    #2
    Bump

    Actually I have another question if I close the terminal will I lose all the work I have completed so far?
     
  3. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #3
    Geez I think the team would go to pot if I didn't answer your questions... :rolleyes:

    What would happen if I went away longer then 3 days? :p

    1) If you download mc68k's script, there will be some info to add, name, team ect... but after you install that you can quit the terminal and be done.
    2) Folding only uses idle CPU which means only uses the part of your CPU that you aren't using during gaming, video processing or whatever...
    But if you DO feel that its adversely affecting preformance you can (when the mc68k script is installed) type 'stop' (and hit enter) in the terminal and after finish playing games make sure to type 'start' (and hit enter).
    3) Turn sleep mode off, once sleep mode is enabled folding and all other processor activities go off. Feel free to turn your monitor off though, you don't need that. :D

    --MrMacMan

    Feel free to ask anymore questions.
     
  4. Macmaniac thread starter macrumors 68040

    Macmaniac

    #4
    Ok it appears to be installed, it is listed in the process viewer as dnetc. However when I installed the script and typed in my email address it did not do anything after that like ask for team # and what not.
    I also went to try an stop the script but typing stop does not do anything. This is when I launch a fresh terminal window. Do I have to reopen the script that I downloaded and type stop? Or do I specify the program and type stop?
     
  5. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #5
    This doesn't sound like the script of mc68k. That script doesn't ask for your email address. Only your folding name and teamnumber (in the terminal). And dnetc... with me it is called fahcore_78.exe and fah4. So I think we are talking about two different things here!
     
  6. Macmaniac thread starter macrumors 68040

    Macmaniac

    #6
    Thanks so much , I had the wrong script downloaded. Now everything seems to be working well. One last question how do I check status on a WU?
     
  7. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #7
    Bous added this feature!

    type 'work' and hit enter!

    Gives current progress!

     
  8. Macmaniac thread starter macrumors 68040

    Macmaniac

    #8
    THANK YOU, now I can make a serious contribution, great advice all! Thanks!
     
  9. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #9
    Well, what MrMacman said type "work" only applies to the terminal. You can also check it in your own home directory in the map "FAH1". There is a textfile called FAHlog.txt. If you scroll all the way down, you also can see how far your WU is. Good luck, welcome to the team and fold on!
     
  10. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #10
    Also in the same Directory you can use 'unitinfo.txt' which does the same thing as 'work' in the terminal and the same as 'FAHlog.txt' scrolling to the bottom.

    Macmaniac -- No problem!
     
  11. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #11
    Macmaniac, I am curious, what kind of Mac do you have??

    Fold on all!
     
  12. Macmaniac thread starter macrumors 68040

    Macmaniac

    #12
    Its a 700mhz G3 iMac, its not going to be a huge boost in production, but every machine helps. I hope to get a G5 over the summer, that should add a lot!
     
  13. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #13
    Indeed every machine counts.

    It counts even more if you make sure it runs constantly.

    I can't imagine how high our production would be is people keep folding, instead of stopping...

    Its our own fault too.

    People never want to launch a graphical client (or remember to), terminal should have been the way to go.
     
  14. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #14
    As said, every machine counts! But you really are better off with the script from mc68k, especially with a G3 proc, then your system stays snappy. You should see quite a boost!

    Folding with a G5 is fast! It is going about ten times as fast as my previous Mac (400 mhz B&W) per proc! So it is really blowing everything away! Hope you will get your G5 soon.

    Keep on the fold! greetz, Dreadnought
     
  15. benpatient macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    #15
    i have just started my dual 1.8 running the multi-proc version about 5 minutes ago...

    console "work" command indicates that there are two processes running and that 0 out of 250000 steps have been completed...how long does this stuff normally take???
     
  16. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #16
    depends on the WU, but normally 4 to 5 minutes per step. good luck and keep on folding!! If you got anymore questions, just post them!
     
  17. benpatient macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    #17
    well, i'm at 10% on both processes, now...of course, they are the same protein: p563_BBA5_ext

    i'm guessing there's not a way to do dual proc with the GUI version, right?
     
  18. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #18
    No, unfortunately folding doesn't support this feature. Each proc must do its own WU and can't share the power. Therefore you are doing two WU's at once, each on one proc.
     
  19. benpatient macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    #19
    OK, some confusion and clarification help....

    When i set up the dual processor console version of F@H, I ended up using "Anonymous" as the name...and 3446 as the team...

    how do i change this? is the anonymous login preventing my WUs from going towards 3446?

    another question...

    I've got this on my terminal when i type "work"

    Process 1
    Protein: p563_BBA5_ext
    Completed 25000 out of 250000 steps (10%)
    Completed 27500 out of 250000 steps (11%)
    Completed 30000 out of 250000 steps (12%)
    Completed 32500 out of 250000 steps (13%)
    Completed 35000 out of 250000 steps (14%)
    -rw-r--r-- 1 xxxx xxxx 4752 2 Apr 10:26 wudata_01.arc
    -rw-r--r-- 1 xxxx xxxx 439320 2 Apr 11:14 wudata_01CP.arc

    Process 2
    Protein: p563_BBA5_ext
    Completed 22500 out of 250000 steps (9%)
    Completed 25000 out of 250000 steps (10%)
    Completed 27500 out of 250000 steps (11%)
    Completed 30000 out of 250000 steps (12%)
    Completed 32500 out of 250000 steps (13%)
    -rw-r--r-- 1 xxxx xxxx 4752 2 Apr 10:27 wudata_01.arc
    -rw-r--r-- 1 xxxx xxxx 439320 2 Apr 11:13 wudata_01CP.arc

    End of data


    Now, does that mean that there are 2 instances of F@H that just happen to be running the same work unit at the same time, or is it actually a WU that the two processes are sharing and both contributing towards?

    basically, I'm asking it i have 2 sets of results at 13 and 14% completion, or do i have 1 set at 14%?

    I believe the way every step shows up on both processes indicates that i'm running two separate work units that just happen to be the same protein...is this correct?
     
  20. benpatient macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    #20
    well, that answered my question before i had even really asked it...

    but now you can all see my performance...:)

    2 WU's at 15% in 50 minutes time...
     
  21. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #21
    Let's see here, all those questions... :D

    "Anonymous" is your name, you can look it up in the stats and the team# is correct!! You can't change this, unless by installing folding again and give yourself the name you want, and ofcourse stay with team 3446!!

    Yes, you are running two WU's, one on each proc. It happens a lot that it is the same WU. In your own homedirectory you see also two folders, one named F@H1, the other F@H2. Both are one WU for each proc. In it you can find different things, such as FAHlog.txt, which lets you see how much you already have fold.
     

Share This Page