For all beta testers: Did you make Lion your main OS?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by petvas, May 5, 2011.

  1. macrumors 601

    petvas

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Location:
    Mannheim, Germany
    #1
    I have to say that normally I don't use beta versions as my main OS, but after a week of testing the OS on a spare disk, I was so impressed and decided to take the plunge and upgraded my main installation.

    The upgrade took 5 minutes on my SSD!!! Everything works great so far, but of course I am still testing. I have a backup of my system before the update, just in case :)
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    Dwalls90

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #2
    I did but sorta regret it ... it's not SO unstable that it's unusable, but some features such as no Rosetta and the few bugs that make it annoying to use, do make me regret upgrading. Thankfully updates are coming regularly so things are only improving, and I dual-boot into W7 whenever something needs to get done bug-free.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 601

    petvas

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Location:
    Mannheim, Germany
    #3
    I am also having some issues, but up until now Lion has been very stable. Spotlight doesnt always find my apps, but I am giving it some more time...
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #4
    Using Windows to get things done bug free? How ironic. ;)
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #5
    my answer is yes and no. I'll explain if this puzzles you.
    Yes, I did make my Lion a major OS of use on my main machine.
    No, I did not upgrade my Snow Leopard installation.

    What I did was install it on a partition on a secondary drive in my tower, but I tend to use lion and the snow leopard partitions equally. I usually end up switching back and forth after a week or so of using each. both contain most of the same programs and bookmarks so I can easily do some work no matter which side i'm on, thankfully I haven't had too many issues with programs not working in lion. I did a clean install of lion DP1 and then wiped that and did a clean install of DP2 and have since just done the recommended updates. so yes, I did upgrade my main machine to lion, and no I don't use lion as my sole OS.
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    Dwalls90

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #6
    Lol, but let's be mature here, W7 is pretty flawless as on OS, especially for Micro$oft. It's less buggy than 10.7 DP2, and I didn't feel like triple-booting with 10.6 too, so I'll stick to W7 anytime 10.7 DP2 isn't quite reliable enough yet.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    spectre51

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    #7
    Has there been any word on if you will be able to upgrade directly to the full released version from the preview builds?

    Whats the best way to backup the entire SL install so that if I wanted to go back I could just reinstall it without having to reinstall all the apps?
     
  8. macrumors 603

    appleguy123

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    15 minutes in the future
    #8
    No. I still like the exposé and multitouch fluidity of Snow Leopard, and that keeps me from using Lion as my main os.
     
  9. macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #9
    No. I've moved up early before on previous betas like Snow Leopard... didn't turn out that well. Learned my lesson. Waiting until Final, then I'll deal with the bugs.
     
  10. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #10
    I've installed Lion on a separate partition on my hard drive and made it my startup disk. I still have Snow Leopard installed on the side, but haven't booted into it for a couple months.
     
  11. macrumors 604

    bushido

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    Germany
    #11
    i'm using it as my main OS now, had SL still installed but haven't booted it for months now so i recently got rid of it. all i'm missing is hotspot shield :-/
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    #12
    I'm using it as my main OS now since preview 1! xD
     
  13. macrumors 68000

    ErikGrim

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #13
    Yes. On three systems. Worked fantastic with DP2 update 2, regret updating to DP2 update 3 as it has regressed horribly.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 601

    petvas

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Location:
    Mannheim, Germany
    #14
    I reverted yesterday to Snow Leopard, as I had many issues with iTunes crashing all the time. I have a test installation where I will continue to run Lion till it gets stable enough for prime time and then I will my upgrade my main Mac to Lion.
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    antmarobel

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Location:
    Brasília
    #15
    I did ( a sort of ) since the first release...But after the second preview and, particularly after the last update I came back to Snow Leopard. It is impossible to use Safari at this point. It crashes all the time when you're downloading something. Horrid! Waiting for better days now...:p
     

Share This Page