For running Windows via VM Fusion?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by entatlrg, Jul 7, 2013.

  1. macrumors 68040

    entatlrg

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Waterloo & Georgian Bay, Canada
    #1
    To run Windows 7 or 8 using Office, Adobe suite and very light on the fly AutoCad, would choosing the i7 be any benefit over the i5. Of course will have 8gb ram.
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    #2
    My guess would be not at all for Office, perhaps minor for the others. The i5 performs very well as a Windows machine under Parallels. I assume results would be similar for Fusion

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  3. macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #3
    Office, not really, Adobe suite will range from not really to helps a fair bit. And I would say AutoCad would see some benefit from the i7.

    I guess the real question is how long do you plan to kee pthe Air for? if you plan on a few years it could be worth it to get the i7. Otherwise it's your call on which processor.
     
  4. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #4
    Unless you're doing BIG things in Autocad, I suspect you won't notice much difference CPU wise.

    I have friends who are using far slower machines on big oil and gas pipeline projects, and most of their speed issues is with the version control system, not the PC they are using.

    Just be aware, if you have 8 GB of RAM, OS X will need a couple of that; you won't be able to allocate 8 GB to Windows.

    I haven't used Autocad myself for a long time, but I'd be tempted to go for either a Retina or cMBP and get 16GB in there to have a bit more headroom.

    If you're planning to be running CAD VMs on this machine during its life, I think only 8 GB of RAM is likely to become a bottleneck within the next 3 years (RAM prices have tumbled - and that means application developers WILL consume it).

    If you're only planning to keep the machine for 12 months.... carry on :D
     
  5. macrumors 68030

    Steve121178

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, UK
    #5
    No. Just make sure you go for the 8GB option and as much HDD as you can afford.
     
  6. macrumors 604

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #6
    Actually, yes.

    The i7 will scale upwards if and when you need the horsepower. Windows is notoriously inefficient and can use the extra horses.

    For $150US, its a no-brainer.

    The power is there if you need it.
     

Share This Page