For those who have questions on iTunes Settings for Audiophiles

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by DCapple, Mar 17, 2006.

1. DCapple macrumors regular

DCapple

i was hoping to be useful and found a good article on how to's for iTunes....

Read here

The information is put together by a true audio technician who even worked on the original mpeg format. Read through and you'll see that he's been there and done that. He seems to know his stuff - more so than I do, that's for certain!

2. lurcher macrumors regular

lurcher

3. DCapple thread starter macrumors regular

DCapple

4. Revlimit Punk macrumors regular

Revlimit Punk

The guy who made that article can't be a recording engineer as he claims to be. He says that "128kbs VBR sounded identical to my CDs".
    Now, i'm not a recording engineer, but the difference i hear between 128kbs (even if they are VBR) and the source cd is like night and day. And that is with just a pair of harman kardon soundsticks connected to the computer line out.
    And yes, i've done blind tests, and i can pick the 128kbs compressed version out of the others 10 times out of 10.

5. WinterMute Moderator emeritus

WinterMute

Sadly, anyone who claims not to hear a difference between any compressed codec and uncompressed PCM is either not using a very good system or not using their hearing properly.

The differences between AAC/MP3 at 128Kbps and even the lowly 44,1Khz 16-bit CD is very obvious, as long as you know what to listen for. This is nothing to do with "audiophile" snobbery, it's just the professional discernment of people who use their ears for a living.

I'm not suggesting that AAC is bad, it's a marvelous codec for producing very small versions of tracks for iPods, and it's much better than MP3, but it is an inferior quality version to the original.