For You iBooker's

Discussion in 'macOS' started by CubaTBird, Apr 28, 2005.

  1. CubaTBird macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    #1
    For all you people with ibooks similar to mine.. u don't get that cool effect in dashboard at all... though u do get at times a kinda cool swirve effect that pushes the widget from the panel at the bottom, and that can be slowed down.. so not all is lost... when i go to the more widget page though, it asks me for a user name and pass.. is that my login info basically?
     
  2. wrc fan macrumors 65816

    wrc fan

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Location:
    In a world where LPs are made like pancakes
    #2
    no, Apple has just set up access restrictions to the widgets page to keep prying eyes out.
     
  3. Caramel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    #3
    Awesome!!! I love how th ibooks are usually last to get cool things...and bad logic boards! as in the g3s.
     
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    Ummm, I don't think there's any connection between the fact that Cuba can't get into the widgets section of the Apple site and the fact that he has a G3. I think its more that he isn't a developer? Can you password in with the free level of ADC? Or do you need to go pro? Or is the password restricted to some other group?
     
  5. crackrock macrumors member

    crackrock

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Location:
    Cracktown, USA
    #5
    On a G4 powerbook it just fades and zooms out, not the cool effect it was on the demos. You need a G5 I think
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6

    I'm pretty sure the effects are GPU-based and not CPU-based though. So maybe a better graphics card would help rather than simply a G5.
     
  7. jhomayne macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    #7
    is it not perhaps the .mac only section?
     
  8. woodsey macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    #8
    Not true! I have a new 15 inch power book, and get the ripple effect!

    Its sooo cool. Cant wait to show all my PC friends!!!
     
  9. R.Youden macrumors 68020

    R.Youden

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    #9
    I get the ripple on my G4 PowerBook but not my G4 PowerMac which is more powerful than my PowerBook. Bugger. Ah well I aint going to rush out ang get a new graphics card for that just yet!
     
  10. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #10

    It's a GPU (graphics card) dependant thing rather than a processor speed thing. That's probably why.
     
  11. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #11
    Correct - nothing to do with the processor. It's a Core Image issue.

    It will work fine on my iMac, but not on my MDD G4 or iBook G4 - why? Graphics card s not up to snuff.

    Cheers.
     
  12. userannon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    #12
    Powerbook 12' over here and I get the ripple effect, nice touch. I kinda liked konfabulator a little better. Some of the widgets were nice, like the mini battery, mini wireless, and mini digital clock. I am sure that developers will create simular widgets for dashboard though.
     

Share This Page