force a higher resolution 4 the 11 in MBA?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by 9guns, Sep 18, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Location:
    used to live in norther NJ, moved to SoCal
    #1
    so i was using airplay on my 2012 11 in MBA and i noticed it forced a higher screen resolution that said "best for airplay" in the preferences. is it possible to force this higher "airplay" resolution?
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    #2
    Hmmm, that smells like a potential workaround if someone could figure it out.

    My HDTV is the same resolution as my 11" Air, though, haha!
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Location:
    used to live in norther NJ, moved to SoCal
    #3
    yea what's that workaround??? anyone, anyone???
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #4
    yep i want this too, not for viewing website or anything but it's a pleasure working a photoshop job with this forced resolution, because i don't see any quality reduction in the photoshop artwork.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #5
    IIRC, the 11" MBA has a screen resolution of 1366x768. You will not be able to make the screen do higher than the max resolution (there are not enough pixels), but it can do resolutions lower than the max.
     
  6. Beau10, Sep 19, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2012

    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Location:
    Downtown San Diego
    #6
    It still of course is at 1366x768, but if you use Airplay to ATV you have the option to scale the screen to interpolate a desktop space of 1920 x 1080.

    I've done this a couple of times at home, and my eyes are good enough that I could handle this resolution on a screen of this size for decent periods of time, but the fuzziness is a bit much. But as a web dev it does has some utility, esp. when I'm proofing mocks vs. live changes for brief periods of time. It also makes me anxious for a rMBA. Sometimes I use Air Utility to hook up to my iPad but that's pretty slow.

    So I think the question here is there a hack of some sort, some way to make a MBA believe it is connecting to a 1080p Airplay device?
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012

Share This Page