Force quit.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by damooster, Jan 7, 2007.

  1. damooster macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    #1
    (I am a new Mac owner.)

    I was playing WoW and it froze. I could not even move my cursor. I tried the force quit option through my keyboard but that did not work. So I ended up holding the power button until the mac shut down.

    Did I do the right thing or is there another option when this happens?
     
  2. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #2
    Sometimes that is the best (and only viable) solution.

    You could use Disk Utility to verify your disk after such a hard restart, just to see if all's well...
     
  3. Quboid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Location:
    everywhere
    #3
    When that happens to me on my iBook. i normally just go to the task manager (apple-key,alt plus esc). that works fine.


    PS. There is this one time when even the power button wouldn't help, and i took the battery out. The computer then made this dying sound (like an engine).
    was that a bad thing to do?
     
  4. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #4
    Nah... that is the final resort when a laptop freezes totally... and if you gotta do it, well, then you gotta do it...

    Of course if your machine freezes regularly (and not because of torrent apps or known system hacks) then that's a bad thing™, and you need to look for the reason...

    If it only happens once (or extremely rarely) then don't worry.

    One tip though: Make another restart (or even better: shut down and count to 10 before starting up again) after the initial hard reboot (and verifying the disk). That should clean up most things... :)
     
  5. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #5
    Yeah this has happened to me too. When it happens, I just do the power button restart, and run disk utility to make sure everything is ok (it always is) and iLife goes on.
     
  6. maxrobertson macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Location:
    Jakarta
    #6
    A lot of the time when you play a game, it's harder to force quit. Try apple + option + shift + escape, because it will force quit without asking.
     
  7. WillJS macrumors 65816

    WillJS

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
  8. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #8
    It's in /Applications/Utilities/ (i.e. the folder called Utilities inside your Applications folder).
     
  9. WillJS macrumors 65816

    WillJS

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    #9

    In my applications folder the only other folder in their is AppleScript
     
  10. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #10
    - Is that the /Applications folder (i.e. the one that is on the root of your HD) or the ~/Applications folder (i.e. the one in your user's home folder)?

    - Which language is your Mac OS X in...? In Norwegian the folder is called 'Verktøy'.

    - You haven't deleted something you shouldn't have...?

    - Have you tried using Spotlight to search for 'Disk Utility'?
     
  11. damooster thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
  12. WillJS macrumors 65816

    WillJS

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    #12
    -Looked in the root HD one

    -English

    -Oops... maybe? Anyway to recover?

    -Yes to no avail
     
  13. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #13
    Agree and can't emphasize Mitthrawnuruodo's second point enough. If you have to do a forced shutdown always check out your HD afterwards with Disk Utility (both permissions and repair).
     
  14. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #14
    Yes, but the easiest (if you don't have a very full HD) might be an Archive and Install.

    Do backup all the data you absolutely cannot afford loosing first, though. Always a good idea, and especially before major installs/changes...
     
  15. stevento macrumors 6502

    stevento

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #15
    and macs are supposed to be these golden reboot-free machines.:confused:
    i think most claims made by apple about the quality of macs is exxagerated.
    but i will say this, Force Quit works better than windows' CTRL ALT DELETE that's for sure.
     
  16. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #16
    Macs are much easier than PC's to keep in top running form.

    I work on both. The Mac has its quirks but is much simpler to keep in top running form. Cloning HDs is easier. Virus/Trojan/Worm/Ad Aware protection is so much easier on a Mac.

    You got that right! :)

    Coming from a mainframe start, the CTL-ALT-DEL key sequence is laughable. You can really tell the difference in the underpinnings of the OS when you try to stop an application from running. The Windows version is like asking a two year old child to stop doing something. Most of the time it doesn't work well. ;)
     
  17. damooster thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    #17
    This happened again and I tried the apple+options+shift+esc thing and that didn't work either...my mac was just frozen. There has to be another option other than holding the power button down...

    One other question: I ran the disk utility...is it the "verify" option that checks to make sure everything is ok?

    Thanks.
     
  18. Killyp macrumors 68040

    Killyp

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    #18
    Basically, choose your hard drive from the left, and then click the button which says 'Repair Disk Permissions'. Verify looks for errors, but doesn't repair them. Repair does both.


    If your Mac keeps on doing it (in different Apps though), then try re-setting the PRAM (ask if you have to do it, we'll walk you through it :) ). If that doesn't work, then try re-installing OS X.

    If that doesn't work, then you need to give Apple a bell, your Mac is a not a happy one...
     
  19. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #19
    You need to boot from the install disk, then go to Disk Utility on the install disk. Note, you do not need to install Mac OS X. Just use the install disk to run Disk Utility. Or you can boot from an external drive and use the external drive's copy of Disk Utility.
     

Share This Page