forced to reset the pram after every restart / shutdown

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by haleyvan, Sep 12, 2006.

  1. haleyvan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    #1
    ever since the latest osx software update, i have had to reset the pram on my macbook everytime i restart or shut down and turn back on, whether it be after updating other software or if i do it by myself.

    first, is this bad for the macbook? i don't really know exactly what resetting the pram means, i just know how to do it.
    second, do you think i should send it in? i hesitate doing this because i am a college student who takes notes on this thing for every class. i can't afford to be without my computer at all.

    can i afford to wait until october or november to take it to the apple store at home? should i take it now? better yet, is there a way to fix this problem at all???? heeellpppp :)
     
  2. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #2
    What is the problem you are having that is "forcing" you to reset pram?
     
  3. haleyvan thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    #3
    oops sorry ... i meant to put that when it begins to reboot again, the grey screen appears, but then different colored vertical lines appear very slowly. i know that many people have had this problem, but normally resetting the pram once fixes it for them.
     
  4. haleyvan thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
  5. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #5
    Found this on macnn - Try this

    1. Shut the computer off.

    2. Restart holding the Option-Command-R-P keys down, wait for three "bongs" and release keys. MacBook should boot normal with no lines.

    3. Next, open your System Preferences control panel and open "Displays" in there. Now change your current resolution setting to some other resolution and then switch it back to your current setting. Close preferences and reboot to test. It should keep rebooting normal without the lines.
     
  6. haleyvan thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    #6
    WOW it worked. i have been living with this problem for like a month now, and before that i had random shutdowns (i fixed that too by posting on here). thank you so much everyone for all your help!!:)
     

Share This Page