Forcing a refresh rate?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by hammo, Jul 21, 2006.

  1. hammo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    #1
    I ran a search and nothing (that I saw) had any relevance to this, so, here goes:

    I just got myself a new LCD monitor and everything is all fine and dandy but, of course, I found a problem to pick out: I want to run the resolution @ 75, but it seems I've been locked in at 60.

    Is there any way to change this? Does it have to do with me running via VGA as opposed to DVI? Thanks!
     
  2. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #2
    LCD's don't really have refresh rates in the same sense that CRT's do...why do you want to change it?
     
  3. hammo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    #3
    On my CRT I was always able to discern the difference between 60 and 75; and sitting here with it on 60 I guess I just don't feel right?

    From what I understand, too, this monitor shines best @ 75.
     
  4. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #4
    Are you sure your monitor is capable of 75?

    Mine's fine...
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    Check the documentation that came with the display, chances are it's designed to run at 60 Hz.
     
  6. hammo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    #6
    Over @ hardforums people have spoken about forcing this monitor to 75; they of course are on windows, so there may be some trickerey involved in that.

    I'll give my docs a look, as what you say may just be the case.
     
  7. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #7
    What do you think will look different in 75? I know my LCD has weird (but very faint, just like the last rev. 15" powerbooks) vertical lines unless I put it into 75, but it has that option.
     
  8. OutThere macrumors 603

    OutThere

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #8
  9. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #9
    Well, OutThere, that's true, but it does have an effect on some monitors, and in my case, mine.

    If I run my 19" LCD at 75, after waking up from sleep on *any* machine, pc or mac it will not display the screen correctly. and it's not the graphics card.

    idunno what it's doing, but when i switch mine down to 60 it's fine.

    75 must be better for the DVI option it has, but my G5 doesn't have DVI (iMac G5) so I have to use VGA.
     

Share This Page