formatting to windows on Mac

Discussion in 'iPod' started by miha, Jan 7, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Finland
    #1
    Hi,

    I have iPod nano and old MBP 2,4GHz (which got new life with 240GB SSD :)

    I have also Samsung TV (2010 LED-model,C7-series here at northern europe). Tried to plug my iPod to TV but it failed to read content (music). There is no videos or photos on iPod.
    TV detects, however, iPod OK.

    iPod is mac-formatted, maybe this is an issue. How on earth format iPod to windows instead of mac? I don't have windows pc (and never will be).


    Br
    -miha

    (Sorry for my bad english)
     
  2. Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    #2
    Have you tried using the iPod with iTunes for Windows or are you trying to format the iPod with Windows?
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #3
    Formatting the iPod as "Windows" can only be done on the Windows build of iTunes.

    You'll need to either install Windows on your mac, install windows in a virtual machine or do it on a friends Windows PC.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Xenc

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Location:
    London, England
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I don't think the formatting is the issue in this case. The iPod USB interface is designed to work independently of it.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    So it seems that on monday I'll install iTunes to W7 workstation which I have on office..just to get my iPod windows formatted.

    Is it really so that there is no any other way get iPod windows-formatted? ie. only with windows it is possible?

    Anyway, thanks a lot for you reply!


    For Xenc; I'll put some photos and videos to iPod to see if TV is able to see those.
    -miha
     
  6. Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    #6
    That's correct.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    Works now

    Hi,

    After formatting iPod as "Windows" instead of "Macintosh" solved the problem; Samsung TV is able to see content (and able to play music from iPod).

    So, the issue is resolved. Thanks!

    Br
    -miha
     
  8. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #8
    Some devices just mount the iPod as mass storage rather than using the 'accessory' API.
     

Share This Page