former PC User needs HELP !!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by vitus, Oct 29, 2005.

1. vitus macrumors newbie

hi,

im relatively new to mac and im currently working with osx on my new 15"pb.

there are a few questions ive come upon, maybe some of you have a clue :)

1.) how do i manually change the MAC-Address of my airport / ethernet card? -is it even possible ?

2.) how can i set a certain program as the standart for opening a certain file type ? ( eg. i ALWAYS want to open all the media files with VLC instead of quicktime)

3.)which files / programms of osx are usually unnecessary and can thus be deleted (to save harddisk space)?

4.)are there tools to optimize running time ? (link would be enough)

tia.

regards vitus

2. matticus008 macrumors 68040

matticus008

Welcome welcome. There's a few differences in the ways OS X and Windows work and so on, so you might find that you don't need to work so hard to keep things running (for example, you don't really need to worry about your fourth question). I hope these answers help you out.

1. A MAC address is designed to be a unique identifier for anything that can be networked. As such, in practice and in principle, it cannot and should not be changed. (It is, however, possible.) Why do you want to change your MAC address? There's probably a different way to accomplish what you want.

2. Choose any file of the type and hit command-i. (Alternatively, right click and go to Get Info). There will be a list of items, including one called Open With. Change the application, and click the "Change all" button to apply it to every file of that type.