Forum newbie has a copyright question

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by applejf, Oct 23, 2006.

1. applejf macrumors newbie

Oct 23, 2006
    I have been shooting and editing since 1995, first on Hi-8, last few years on a G5 with a GL-1 and iMovie. All for fun. Now I am getting into making (teeny amounts of) money creating motorcycle instructional videos for a friend who plans to put them on a new website. Another friend (who does the riding in the video) and I have done three so far. At this point they are in webstreaming format, and that's all I have provided to my friend. The website owner is telling me that he wants me to turn over the raw footage dv tapes to him, and he's saying 'Of course I will own the copyrights'. Is this customary? He wants to be able to create DVD's for sale in addition to streaming the individual lessons from his site. Even with my pretty-good shooting/composition skills, editing skills, equipment, don't I own the product? I can't imagine a wedding photographer turning over his 'negatives' to a customer. Am I missing something here?

Thanks in advance
  2. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

Aug 9, 2002
    Personally, I don't see what's wrong with doing it one way or the other so long as both parties agree. If turning over the raw footage and tapes isn't something you're comfortable with, then don't do it. If you don't really mind, and you want the money, then do it.
  3. PegasusMedia macrumors member

Mar 29, 2006
    Jacksonville, FL
    You shot it, you own it.

Terms of the sale can be negotiated as you see fit.

Personally, I would give it up for a fee up front plus a percentage of sales.

You can weight that balance based on how you feel about the potential sales.

Think the guy is off his rocker? Ask for lots of actual money and a very small percentage. Think he's got a great plan and will actually sell a bunch? Take a small fee and a large percentage.
  4. Keebler macrumors 68030

Jun 20, 2005