Forum Spy not updating

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by GGJstudios, Feb 4, 2012.

  1. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #1
    I've seen this happen more frequently. Forum Spy sometimes skips updating for a while, even though threads should be showing up. In the example posted below, a thread was started at 5:52 with a response at 5:53. Neither showed up on Forum Spy, even though they were in an included forum. Logging out, deleting all cookies and logging back in a few times will cause those threads to show up, but then other threads are missing. It's simply not reflecting all posts as it should.
    ScreenCap 5.PNG
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    That is GOOOOOD. Less threads to post in. ;)

    But I have seen that behaviour too in the last month or so, but I never bothered to investigate it. Sometimes refreshing FS helped showing threads, that weren't there before.

    But the strange thing is, it seems to be individual, FS showed that thread you were missing, I reloaded FS more than an hour ago.
    [​IMG]
     
  3. macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #3
    The times have just jumped from pm to am too...
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    Ups, didn't see that. I guess my TM does work.

    Reloading fixes that issue, of course only temporarily.
     
  5. macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #5
    The same happened to me.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    I reloaded the FS page several times and those posts wouldn't appear. I logged out of MR and back in a couple times.... still gone. Finally, I reset Safari, clearing all cookies and caches. Then those posts finally showed up, but my first post of this thread was missing, even though there were posts before and after that showed up. Repeat reloading, clearing cookies, etc. and finally I got that one to show. It's intermittent and unpredictable, but it would be nice if it just did what it's supposed to do, all the time.
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    LostSoul80

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #7
    If clearing your cookies works, then it must be a script problem and updating/requesting a fix to the author is the only solution.

    Without the actual code is difficult to come to a fix though.
     
  8. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #8
    And now there is this, when loading FS:
     
  9. arn
    macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #9
    try now.

    I think I made a config error.

    arn
     
  10. GGJstudios, Feb 10, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2012

    thread starter macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #10
     

    Attached Files:

  11. arn
    macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #11
    hmm... was this meant to be a blank post?

    arn
     
  12. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #12
    It's back. Thanks.

    But I have seen another strange thing, like the post by Mister GGJstudios between yours and mine now. It is empty. I reported an empty one a while ago (two hours maybe) and have seen a similar one, if I remember correctly.
     
  13. arn
    macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #13
    ya

    I see a couple now. I think it was the same glitch. watching to see if more happen now.

    arn
     
  14. thread starter macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #14
    Every time I post, it comes up a blank post. Every time I click to submit a post, I get this:
    ScreenCap 32.PNG
    Lots of weirdness happening
     
  15. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
  16. arn
    macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #16

Share This Page