Frankensteining Broke PBG4 into Media Center

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by rmbohanek, Apr 10, 2005.

1. rmbohanek macrumors newbie

Just got the news from my wife that she broke her PB G4 TiBook (1 Ghz). She had the screen bent back way too far. Dogs were involved. Anyway, I was thinking about all the discussions regarding Mac Mini as a media center. What about using the shell of this PowerBook as a media center. My tv is a Samsung DLP with a VGA in. The PB TiBook shoul dhave enough muscle to do MPEG 2 encoding. Hook it up to a large honking external drive, get the eyeTV to do some heavy lifting as well. It has a SuperDrive so I can offload my tv to DVD-R's for archival. I would be a happy camper.

I am just beginning my research, so bear with me.

My thinking:
    - direct from the PB G4 into the VGA in of the TV (Is there a way to go through the primary video out of the PB? I know I can use the monitor out, but how do I get a PB that has no access to it's primary screen to recognize an external out)
    - eyeTV the best way to go?
    - Thoughts on big honking external drive
    - Experience from people on using a D-link Bluetooth adapter and Apple's wireless keyboard mouse to control the Beast? Should I use RF keyboard/mouse?
    - Software choices?
    - What am I missing?

I am pissed at my wife (second situation), but this is a great opportunity to really augment my home theather.

Cheers, and TIA,
    Bob

2. MoparShaha macrumors 68000

MoparShaha

It's a cool idea. Connect the PB via VGA and just set it up to mirror. Even in mirror mode, you can adjust the resolution, so you're not stuck at the native resolution of the PB. Even though the VRAM will be split between your TV and the non-existant internal display, I think your graphics card will be more than capable (64 MB radeon 9000 if I recall correctly).