Freaky desktop background pic behaviour...

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by mikebatho, Nov 8, 2005.

  1. mikebatho macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    Greater Manchester UK
    #1
    My desktop is acting freaky.

    I just went to change the picture in the background, as I do fairly often, and it's now decided to place some of the images I select in a Apple Blue frame, blow some up so large you can't see the edges, and keep some the way they have always looked.

    Up until now my g5 just sized everything to fit the screen.

    Anyone know what could be causing this...?
     
  2. mikebatho thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    Greater Manchester UK
    #2
    No one??

    I've set it to one of the ones that still fit perfectly, but would love to have my full range of pics back.

    And I've done all my disk doctor stuff, permissions, janitor tasks etc...

    Grrrrrrr...
     
  3. pdpfilms macrumors 68020

    pdpfilms

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Location:
    Vermontana
    #3
    Have you tried adjusting the settings in the desktop preference pane? It's probably set on "Center Image", when it should be set on "Fit to screen".
     
  4. mikebatho thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    Greater Manchester UK
    #4
    Hey, yeah, thats a good point.

    Where are my CENTER, TILE & FIT TO SCREEN options...?

    Here are shots of my desktop with different images showing. No5 Fits perfectly, the one of the shoes is blown way out of size & off the edges of the screen, and the others have blue frames....

    Hmmmmmmm
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Daveway macrumors 68040

    Daveway

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Location:
    New Orleans / Lafayette, La
    #5
    hmmm......:confused:
     

    Attached Files:

  6. rogerismyname macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    #6
    os x is weird

    urinals.... gross


    Anyway, I had the same problem you did. I had all my desktop pictures stored in Hard Drive->Library->Desktop Pictures and couldn't pick how to fit them on screen. I moved them to the first level of the hard drive and then went back to the desktop prefs and chose the folder in its new location. Now all works great.

    It seems that if you have your pictures in the system's desktop pictures folder then os x thinks they are all pre-sized to fit perfect.

    With pictures in the system library:
    gone.jpg


    With them anywhere else:

    back.jpg
     
  7. mikebatho thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    Greater Manchester UK
    #7
    Yeah, really helpful DAVE, posting a pic to show me where the thing is on your machine, when I've already posted pics showing you that it isn't there on mine....

    Duh!!

    Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm??
     
  8. mikebatho thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    Greater Manchester UK
    #8
    Thanks Roger. Guess I'll have to try that. The thing I can't understand is why on earth it's only happened now!!!!

    It's been fine ever since I bought the bloody machine in January.

    Thanks anyway.
     
  9. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #9
    It's not there for Apple desktops but it's there for custom images from iPhoto or Finder or wherever for me. :)

    Which has apparently been established now. :eek:
     
  10. mikebatho thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    Greater Manchester UK
    #10
    Yeah. I've moved my downloaded desktops to my HD folder, then selected it from there in system prefs, and it's now given me the options to stretch, fit & stuff.

    It's just a pain that I'm going to have to put all my backgrounds, even the apple ones that came with the machine in there, or they don't fit anymore.

    Wierd.
     
  11. rogerismyname macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    #11
    Yeah, I had no trouble for about 6 months and then all of a sudden couldn't resize anything anymore.

    Luckily, I stumbled across that trick of moving the folder out of the system library. Except now I can't keep my pictures the one place I really want to keep them!
     

Share This Page