Free AT&T Wi-Fi Access for iPhones

Discussion in 'MacRumors.com News Discussion' started by MacRumors, Apr 30, 2008.

  1. macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]

    A couple of readers have reported that AT&T hotspots are now offering free Wi-fi access to iPhone users. AT&T Wi-Fi hotspots at Barnes and Noble as well as Starbucks are now offering iPhone users a custom portal to access free Wi-fi. A special iPhone formatted page asks for your mobile phone number. Once entered, you can access the Wi-fi access for free. Blurry photo provided: MacRumors has been able to confirm this finding at a local Barnes and Noble.
    [​IMG]

    AT&T recently partnered with Starbucks to provide Wi-fi access to Starbucks' 7000 stores nationwide. This partnership allowed existing AT&T broadband customers free access and AT&T promised that it would "soon extend the benefits of Wi-Fi at Starbucks to its wireless customers", but no official announcement has yet been made.

    Article Link
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    Grimace

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    with Hamburglar.
    #2
    Awesome, finally a benefit from having AT&T&T&T!!
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    pkoch1

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    Where was this found? What state(s)?
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Location:
    Shrewsbury, UK
    #4
    It seems that iPhone users get the best deal when going to Starbucks then. What with access to the custom iTunes Store, and now this. Nice deal if you ask me.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    cheekybobcat

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Location:
    U-S of A
    #5
    Definitely a plus for iPhone owners. I don't think this will be a plan-switcher for most :/

    Can't wait to get mine though!
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    Foxglove9

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #6
    I thought if you owned an iPhone you automatically had wifi access as part of your AT&T service?
     
  7. arn
    macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #7
    Barnes & Noble in Virginia here. one of the user reports said NY.

    arn
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    #8
    Nope. At least not up until now.
     
  9. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #9
    A side bit of goodness is that I am an AT&T DSL customer who happens to also own an iPod touch (not iPhone). In any event, I went by Starbucks today discovered the AT&T Wi-Fi connection in my settings, chose that, input my AT&T email address and password, and woila, FREE Wi-Fi on my iPod touch. Very cool.

    Mark
     
  10. Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #10
    I believe you normally have to pay for access at some stores.
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Location:
    Shrewsbury, UK
    #11
    Is this going to let iPhone users from across the world use AT&T Wi-Fi for free? For instance, if I was to visit New York and go to Starbucks, could my O2 iPhone log on for free. I doubt it myself, but I was just wondering how it is going to differentiate between the two. Or will just be based on the iPhone's browser user agent?

    EDIT: I've just realised you need to log in with an AT&T username and password. Duh.
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    #12
    Houston

    It came up in Houston last weekend (4/26-27) but I've got t-mobile and couldn't use it -- the login screen came up automatically but didn't take my t-mobile #. Guess if you've got an unlocked iPhone it's edge only at Starbucks (didn't seem to be any way around the 'free ATT iphone' login screen to use an alternate wifi access account).
     
  13. macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #13
    very nice! i'll have a stop at starbucks tomorrow and see if its here in Chicagoland yet.
     
  14. macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #14
    soo cool!

    can I use my cell number for Wi-Fi on my laptop, or just the iPhone?
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    #15
    I always use EDGE at my local Starbucks here in Acton, MA. But this morning I got the said page on my iPhone with Free WiFi access. Sweeeeeet! :D

    I was going to post it here - but I guess I was a little late :p
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    #16
    Great!!!

    I just keep getting more and more value out of this freaking awesome phone!!! All things non-Apple just suck!
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    happydude

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Location:
    a gasping dying planet
    #17
    a nice little perk . . .

    . . . if only i drank coffee . . .
     
  18. arn
    macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #18
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/4A102 Safari/419.3)

    If you hit it with your laptop it goes to the normal login page which asks for a username and password
     
  19. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    #19
    Does anybody know if the wifi can be accessed with an ipod touch?
     
  20. macrumors 68000

    deannnnn

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Location:
    New York City & South Florida
    #20
    Yeah I was wondering the same thing...
    I'm going to try it out tomorrow =)
     
  21. D4F
    Guest

    D4F

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #21
    Going to stop at Starbucks soon here in South FL and check it out.
     
  22. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #22
    what?!?!?! no @^$*$# way. this is awesome news.
     
  23. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    #23
    I don't drink coffee... Always get my No-Water Soy Chai :p
     
  24. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #24
    Seen it

    I was at Starbucks on Saturday and saw this. Totally awesome. But I thought I would mention that the first time I got an error and it went to a T-Mobile error page. I guess AT&T is using the old T-Mobile Hotspots.
     
  25. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    #25
    Has anyone tried User Agent -> Mobil Safari 1.1.3 -- iPhone? That should allow you to get it.
     

Share This Page