Free Unlocking of iPhone 4S Bell Canada

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by bigpoppamac31, Jul 25, 2013.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    I bought an iPhone 4S 16GB on Kijiji. The guy who sold it to me said it was unlocked. He used it on Bell Canada Network. I bought a Fido SIM and had the SIM activated. But when I restarted the iPhone it never clicked into the Fido Network. Instead it gave me this message:

    "The SIM card that you currently have installed in this iPhone is from a carrier that is not supported under the activation policy that is currently assigned by the activation server. This is not a hardware issue with the iPhone.Please insert another SIM card from a supported carrier or request that this iPhone be unlocked by your carrier. Please contact Apple for more information."

    How can I unlock the phone from the Bell network and use it on my Fido Network? Bell wants $75 for them to unlock it for me. Is there anyway to do this for free??
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    #2
    Contact the seller first. If you have to pay for the unlock he should refund you that part :/

    I'm guessing it was working before the reboot because of a tethered jailbreak/unlock.
     
  3. bigpoppamac31, Jul 25, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2013

    thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    Well I've tried to contact the seller but so far to no avail. I can't phone him cause I don't have a phone to do so. And so far no reply to emails. I just hope I did not get screwed out of $250.

    I can't even get the IMEI # to show up on the phone.
     
  4. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    The IMEI is on the sim tray or if you go to the screen to dial a phone number
    then input *#06# and hit call.
    But you're not going to get it unlocked for free either way.
    Next time be more careful before you spend $250 and make sure it is unlocked prior to handing over your cash.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    Well I was not able to get to a screen to dial that number until a re-inserted the Bell SIM. Once I had the Bell SIM in I was able to follow the steps to get to the default home screen. With the Fido SIM I only get a few steps into the setup. the only way to get the number pad to show up with the Fido SIM is the use the emergency call option but inputing the number doesn't give me the IMEI that way. I still get "no service" with the Bell SIM.
     
  6. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    If you got it activated and got into the home screen go to settings/general/about
    and look for the imei tab.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    Yeah I see that. But that number won't do me any good will it?? Will I need that number when I go to Bell to have it unlocked?
     
  8. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    What do you mean that number will do you no good?
    That is the phones IMEI.
    That's what they will ask you for in order to unlock it.
     
  9. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    #9
    If it's locked to Bell you can use it on Virgin without unlocking. Their plans are similar to Fido.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #10
    I already have a Fido contract. I broke my previous iPhone 4S so I had to purchase a new (or use) one.

    ----------

    Okay then.

    ----------

    Okay then.

    ----------

    Okay then.
     
  11. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  12. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    #12
    Ah that sucks then. Bell won't unlock the phone unless you're currently on contract with them, and even if they do they rip you off for that $75. My friend just went through this and ended up with Virgin so he didn't have to deal with Bell for unlocking.

    You may have to sell the phone and try again to find an unlocked one.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #13
    Sorry. Mac Rumours went weird on me hence why I replied with the same thing three times in a row. LOL

    ----------

    If I paid that $75 it would unlock it right?? I popped an Ad on Kijiji for the fun of it. But what sucker would buy my phone? Oh wait... I got suckered. LOL Seriously though this is a pain in the butt.
     
  14. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14


    Lol :D
    I hope you get it unlocked bro.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #15
    Well someone just replied to my Kijiji ad to buy the phone so maybe I won't have to worry about it. :D
     
  16. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16
    Sweet:D
    How much did he offer for it?
     
  17. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #17
    Well I'm asking $270 for it which is $20 more then I paid. But that $20 covers the InvisibleShield protector. ;) :D
     
  18. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  19. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #19
    yeah I hope so.
     

Share This Page