Free up Local Disk Space on MacBook?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by vickalamode, Aug 1, 2007.

  1. macrumors newbie

    vickalamode

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Location:
    Medway, MA
    #1
    OK, so I am completely new to mac. The last time I used a mac computer was when my family had one around 1994/1995. So, I don't know how to do completely basic things like this.

    I got my macbook on Saturday, less than a week ago. Last night I bought the Sims 2 at the apple store and I asked the guy if it would run good on it. He went through all of the requirements and said that my computer surpassed all of them.

    So I go to run it and it won't run and says I need to free up local disk space. Basically I'm wicked pissed right now and am worrying that something is wrong with my computer or he was lying and I can't return it. Someone help? How do I free this up? Is it a big deal that I need to do this after having the computer for less than 5 days? This is the only big program I've installed so far. I've only installed basic stuff like office and my printer so I don't know how it could be out of space already.
     
  2. macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    How much hard drive space do you have left? (It'll show you when you open a Finder window in the lower center.)
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    vickalamode

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Location:
    Medway, MA
    #3
    52.86 GB available
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #4
    Thats plenty of disk space for the sims
     
  5. macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #5
    That's more than enough space for The Sims, it only takes up about 5 or so GB when I had it installed and that was with 2 expansion packs. Have you tried restarting your Mac and then trying again?
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    vickalamode

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Location:
    Medway, MA
    #6
    Yeah, I know. It says I need 3GB. But when I try to run it, I get a message that says "The Sims 2 requires at least 1MB of free disk space, free up some space on your local disk and restart the Sims 2", I honestly don't really know how to do that and to be completely honest I don't even know how different it is from the hard drive or anything.
     
  7. Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #7
    Sounds like a bug with the installer, as iBookG4user suggested i would try a restart before attempting anything else.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    vickalamode

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Location:
    Medway, MA
    #8
    OK, I restarted 2x and I'm getting the same notice. Should I reinstall the game?
     
  9. Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #9
    I think that would be best.
     
  10. macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #10
    Yeah, I would reinstall it. If it doesn't come with an uninstaller you could use uapp.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors newbie

    vickalamode

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Location:
    Medway, MA
    #11
    It's working perfectly now! Thank you so much for your help everyone:) I'll probably be back here all the time with questions haha
     
  12. Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #12
    Glad it is sorted and feel free to ask questions as often as you need, and feel free to chime in with possible solutions. Welcome to the forums.
     
  13. macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #13
    Happy to help :)
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #14
    Free up Local Disk Space on MacBook-2

    I am having the same problem and unfortunately, i cannot figure it out. i just bought Civilization IV today and when i try to install, it says "Civ IV needs at least 1 MB of free disk space". I deleted stuff and i have 48.02 GB space on my MacBook. I am getting extremely flustered. I restarted my computer and everything. What should I do?
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    #15
    help

    hi! im having exactly the same problem. i jsut bought sims2 yesterday.. and my macbook is only 3weeks old, it doesnt have much files in it. it also says the same thing "sims needs at least 1 MB of free disk space" somethin like that... and im so pissed off cos i wasted my money! help me pls!!!!
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    #16
    hopefully answer to sims 2 problem

    ok, so i was sort of angry when i read this and it helped none. I had the same problem, but this is what I did: You know the window that pops up when you enter in the disk and click on it, drag and drop the folder that says sims 2 into the folder on the desktop that says Macintosh HD, or the one that looks like a hard drive. Once you do this a little window should open up that says copying to hard drive. Then ex out of the pop-up window and click on the icon on the desktop that says macintosh HD there should be many folders in there one of which is titled sims 2 open that folder and click on the icon that says sims 2. That should work, and if it doesn't I'm really sorry. It is very crucial to ex-out of the pop-up window. This may not make sense. If something is unclear, just tell me and i will try to make it clearer.http://images.macrumors.com/vb/images/smilies/rolleyes.gif

    P.S. make sure the disk is in the drive while you are doing all this. You need the disk to run the game.
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    #17
    Hellp!!!!

    pleazzzz hellp....

    i have the sims2 and whenever i try to play it it says i need to free up some space on the local disk space...ive restarted the computer ive reinstalled the sims i even tryed taking the battery out but that just resulted in me having to reinstall everything else too and it still wants me to free up space what do i do???????its so frustraiting
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    #18
    Problems with Civilization IV install

    I am having the same problems with Civ IV i cannot get it to install. It either says that i do not have enough disk space or that it failed loading XML file assets//XML\Gameinfo\CIV4PlayerOptioninfos.xml
    Im getting very frustrated if someone could please help me that would be great thanks.
     
  19. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #19
    omg! help!

    Ok, so today i bought the sims2.
    i have a macbook osx
    and its not letting me load it. it says blah blah the sims 2 requires at least 1 mb of free disc space.
    i have pleanty of hard drive left like 58 or something. and its still not working.
    ive tried all suggested above and no help at all!!
    help pleasseee!!

    ill love you forever if you help me !! [:

    -Nichole
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #20
    Please help

    I really really need some help with my game, i have an apple eMac and the other day I bought age of empires 2 gold edition, it will sometimes install but other times it doesn't!!!:mad:. When it does I will load it up and the people and buildings will be invisible:confused::confused:!!

    Please can you help me!!!!

    Thanks!:)
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #21
    Package installer problem after installing the sims2 Help please

    I installed the sims2 on my macbook but the package installer cannot be installed, it says my computer does not meet the recommended processor speed requirement and after i click ok it says package installer requires at least 1mb of free disk of space and says please free up your local disk and then re-launch package installer...

    i can play the sims2 but my problem is any costume content that i try to download won't work.

    info about my mac : 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory,160GB hard drive


    I tried to delete some unwanted folders but with no success and I will appreciate if any one can try to help me fix this or figure it out why its not working because i love to download stuff for the sims game:


    confused:
     
  22. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    #22
    It worked!

    Thank you, this worked perfectly!!!!!!
     
  23. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    #23
    me too

    i just got it today, and it kept saying i needed space but i know i have a lot of space because i recently got rid of lots of old files. i hope re-installing helps. it sounds like it will. thanks for the suggestion!

    grace:):apple:
     
  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    #24
    Simplified Version of what they Said

    1: Make sure that the folder that says *Game Name* is in the hard drive

    2: Open that folder from the hard drive

    3: LAUCH THE GAME FROM HERE

    The End
     
  25. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    #25
    uninstall?

    sorry but i just dont see the option.. could be right in front of me, just not used to macs i guess. how do i simply uninstall the game. im haveing trouble with civilization 4 and i just dont see an option for just uninstall. please if anyone can help me out that would be great. thanks
     

Share This Page