Freecom DVB-T USB stick

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by dissolvedboy, Jul 14, 2006.

  1. dissolvedboy macrumors newbie

    Jan 11, 2006
    Bath, UK
    Hey there, i just bought the Freecom DVB-T stick and it comes with windows drivers etc but apparently you can get it working on a mac if you have EyeTV, was just wondering if anyone knew anything about this...
    i.e. what settings you need in EyeTV and anything else you might need to install in order for it to be recognised. I've done some googling but it wasnt much help.
    any assistance would be greatly appreaciated. cheers.

  2. Primus84 macrumors 6502

    Jul 21, 2005
    Did you ever get this working?

    If so how?

  3. macrumors newbie

    Aug 21, 2006
    Actually, it works...

    The freecom DVB-T USB Stick indeed only comes with win xp software and drivers and there doesn't seem to be any description wether "somehow" it can run on a MAC...

    I have the newest version of elgato eyeTV (2.3) and the freecom USB stick will run if you set the hardware to Miglia, TVmini, UK, PAL1 (if you are residing in the UK that is...).

    However, some comments: If you don't have eyeTV anyway, or the USB stick anyway, don't bother forking out money for this combination, better buy a MAC compatible system from the start.
    Where I live (blimming Surrey) there is no strong DVB signal (hence another reason why it is a total waste of money to buy an overpriced house here). I need a cable signal to receive channels, the delivered antenna does squad...

    Before I connected the stick to the cable, I played around with a driver packet (MMInputFamily and Drivers v0.8.4, google for it on the web). To be honest, I have no idea if installing them helped or not- but it did not do any harm...

    For some obscure reason BBC1 and 2 are not detected...

    The freecom stick is not fully compatible so your freecom remote won't work (but your apple remote does- though channel changes are a pain...). The picture is great on my MAC but if it wouldn't be, there is no way to change contrast and hue and these things...

    So all in all: if you have the components anyway you can combine them, if you don't- better get something more comprehensive.


    imac G5 17', 1.9 GHz (of course no Intel), 2.5 GB, 160GB HDD
  4. SimonTheSoundMa macrumors 6502a

    Aug 6, 2006
    Birmingham, UK
    Hi Alex, can you give me some pointers on how to get the Freecom tuner to work on OS X?
  5. macfanalso macrumors newbie

    Sep 12, 2006
    OK I brought a freecom stick a few months ago but when I go to install the eye tv 2.3.1 software it asks for an activation key, can someone please provide one ??!
  6. obiwan macrumors regular

    Jun 7, 2004
    There's an activation code, because the software is not free. - You can buy the software only from elgato (I think), or you have to buy an EyeTV product, that comes with the software already bundled with it.
  7. macfanalso macrumors newbie

    Sep 12, 2006

    OK bit late on a reply but anyway I have a activcation code but I think the s/w is only for the digital only version not the analogue / digital version I have ?

    The new version of Mediacentral 2.3 works with the freecom btw again just the digital dtt only version
  8. Sulis macrumors newbie

    Aug 22, 2006
    Having just got my new iMac, I am trying to get the freecom dvb-t stick going, but it doesn't seem to work with either eyeTV or Mediacentral....when I plug it in the light on the USB stick doesn't even come on...

    Does anyone else have this problem?
  9. macfanalso macrumors newbie

    Sep 12, 2006
    Try talking to the guys at mediacentral via skype. If the light does'nt come on though are you sure the usb connection is being seen by your imac ? Perhaps the freecom is faulty as even I get the green led on mine.
  10. LPCx macrumors newbie

    Jul 21, 2006
    Lovely post ... I have a Freecom DVB-T doofa and wanted to use it on the mac. This post made me go out and buy EyeTV, which is right now recording TV in lovely clear quality :).

    Cheers guys.
  11. skinnydiver macrumors newbie

    Jul 18, 2007
    I tried to get it to work with MediaCentral using my Freecom as well, but it always hang while trying to scan the channels.

    I also mailed Elgato to ask if they support Freecom using their EyeTV, but they said no...any advise from anyone?
  12. PhilW macrumors newbie

    Jun 14, 2008
    Birmingham, UK
    Anyone made any progress getting the Freecom DVB-T USB stick to work with OS X? I've got a new MacBook and would love to watch TV on it.
  13. si77hay macrumors regular

    Nov 29, 2008
    Just follow Alex's superb post above. I have just got my Freecom DVB USB Stick working on my Mac Mini.
    Oh by the way, you do need to "obtain" a copy of eyeTV (mines v3.0.4).

    Thank you!!!

Share This Page