fresh Mac Pro refurb, came with 1.5GB RAM

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by rd001, Dec 12, 2006.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    #1
    I just received my refurb MP, a stock 2.66 Xeon with 250GB drive. While waiting for it to warm up enough to plug in, I opened the case to check for freebies. In the lower RAM card, there is a single 512MB RAM module. The upper card has the normal two 512MB modules.

    I've read a lot of threads here but haven't seen anyone post about this.

    So is this safe to run as is? I assume so since they supposedly test them during the refurb process. Will it slow the machine down to run it this way?

    Can I order up a single 512MB stick of Apple's FB-DIMMs to complete the set?
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    #2
    Interesting.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    #3
    Weird is more like it. I'm on hold with AppleCare now, to ask them if I can plug it in as is.
     
  4. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Cuidad de México
    #4
    There have been some cases where refurb Macs show up with greater then advertised specifications.
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    Danksi

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Nelson, BC. Canada
    #5
    My understanding is that the MP needs matched-pairs.. so 1Gb, 2Gb, 3Gb, etc.. 1.5Gb may not work properly. Very strange.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    #6
    I decided to remove the extra 512MB module from the lower riser card, following AppleCare's advice.

    Anyone know where I could buy a single 512MB Apple FB-DIMM (Micron) or a compatible module?
     
  7. EGT
    macrumors 68000

    EGT

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    #7
    :confused:

    Is it outside or in a fridge freezer or something? :p
     

Share This Page