from mac to mac??

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by applelover, Jul 9, 2005.

  1. applelover macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Location:
    Bath UK
    #1
    hi, i have just got a new 17"powerbook and was wondering if anyone knew the best way to move all of my iphoto images/albums and saved emails from entourage from my old 15"powerbook to the new one?

    thanks for any help

    jay :confused:
     
  2. katie ta achoo macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #2
    When you turn on your 17"-er for the first time, it should ask you if there are any files/settings you want to transfer.
    Plug the two computers in via firewire when it tells ya to, and it'll to it's thing.

    It's reason #20398 to love your Mac. :D :D
     
  3. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #3
    Although I've never done this. You can connect to Macs via Firewire. As for setting it up, I wouldn't imagine it very difficult (its OSX!). But its a practical suggestion for moving a large amount of data. Ethernet if all else fails, just be sure to use a cross-over cable, and not a patch.
     
  4. applelover thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Location:
    Bath UK
    #4
    thanks for your replys guys, i have used a fire wire but not for a very long time, do i have to hold down the "T" key on one of the macs for it to work? i cant remember!

    jay :)
     
  5. katie ta achoo macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #5
    yup, if you want to boot the old one as a firewire drive, but since the 17 is new, why didn't it prompt you to do it when you first set it up?

    *confused* :confused: :confused:
     
  6. applelover thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Location:
    Bath UK
    #6
    hey katie
    thanks for all the help, the reason i havent done it yet is because i havent got it yet, dosent come till monday (cant wait!!!) i'm just sorting out my 15" so i know what i want to move to the 17" and what i dont, but i was more worried about not being able to move all my emails over from MS Entourage as i need them for work.

    Just read at the bottom of your page that you have an apple bluetooth mouse and keyboard, i'm thinking about getting them aswell, whats the battery life like on them?

    jay :)
     
  7. katie ta achoo macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #7
    OH!!! that's the situation!!
    DUDE! Just keep using your PowerBook. When you get your new, shiny, perfect, huge, beautiful 17" PB, just turn on the new PB, and you'll get the nifty "this is the first time this mac has been turned on/tiger intro" movie. Then, you'll get the setup screens. One of them says something about transferring files and settings. It basically clones your HD. You don't have to worry about reinstalling, finding your serial numbers, yada yada yada. It's AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!
    It also transfers your keychain! :) :)
    I love Macs!!


    the BT KB and mouse are totally awesome!
    They're so easy to set up!
    I like to hook up my PB to the TV, then use the bluetooth keyboard and mouse. I have a sweet 36" monitor. It's great for watching episodes of Systm or thebroken or the scene (welcometothescene.com) <-- the scene is pretty cool. It's a fictionalization about people who put pirated movies on the internet. Really interesting! check it out! :) :)
     
  8. applelover thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Location:
    Bath UK
    #8
    thanks katie!
    sounds like another great idea from apple! thas gonna save me loads of time!
    i'll have to go and look at that website, sounds interesting!

    i'll let you know how i get on!

    take it easy

    jay :)
     
  9. mintlivedotcom macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    #9
    Can I hook two macs up via firewire and still copy applications over? I have a couple that need the disc, but I can't find them in all my clutter.
     
  10. wrxguy macrumors 6502a

    wrxguy

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Location:
    Deepest Regions of Hell
    #10
    converted

    haha i wish doing all that from my pc to my mac was as easy lol...oh well i guess that is what i get for gettin a pc in the first place! but now, i am a changed man...
     
  11. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #11
    When you buy new mac, the option described above should copy all your apps and preferences as well. I have heard that there are a few apps that will request your startup disk, but I haven't encountered that -- Dreamweaver, Fireworks, MS office, Photoshop, Quicken, all worked fine.

    If you just use the Firewire transfer mode, you can copy files over, but I think that some apps may be difficult to copy that way.
     
  12. WeeShoo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #12
    Me Too... lol.
     
  13. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #13
    Actually you can use nearly any CAT-3/5/5e/6 cable to connect anything to a Mac for any reason since 1998. They now use auto-sensing ethernet chips that allow for a more versatile use of the system. It is also quite cheaper than buying a crossover cable.

    As for Firewire, you could use target disk mode, or you can use Firewire as Ethernet. Just hook the systems up, set one to share its internet connection over Firewire (Even if you are not connected to the internet) and Bob's your Uncle you are networked. Just run the transfer Utility in the Utilities folder inside the Applications Folder and have at it.

    TEG
     
  14. crachoar macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Location:
    Ohio
    #14
    Reboot, Apple + T. Mount the drive, browse, take what you need, eject.

    That's the way I've always done it...
     
  15. katie ta achoo macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #15

    There are programs that do that for you...
    but you're probably over needing to do that by now. :) :)

    (it does USB, install some stuff, yada yada yada, hooray!)
     
  16. AlmightyG5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    #16
    What if i don't want to transfer all my apps when i first boot up my new iMac i'm getting. Say i just want to copy a few apps and thats it...not my whole HD and prefs...
     
  17. Ogre55 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    #17
    I found it was better to set up the computer with a new acount rather than importing an old user. After you are set up restart the old computer in target mode which then causes it to pop as hardrive icon on your desktop of your ned computer. Here is the link to apple's support page on all of this

    http://www.info.apple.com/kbnum/n58583

    Hope this helps and hasn't already been posted
     
  18. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #18
    Same question here. I'm getting a new iBook pretty soon and I want to do this, but my Powermac is kinda cluttered and I need to transfer some apps, mail messages, etc, but don't want the clutter of all my junk...

    I have an external HD, so maybe I'll just use the installers I've put on there and my disks and start from scratch, I really like clean computers.

    Would still like an answer to this question, though!
     

Share This Page