Front Row 1.3

Discussion in 'macOS' started by apunkrockmonk, Sep 12, 2006.

  1. apunkrockmonk macrumors 6502a

    apunkrockmonk

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #1
    It is available in software update now... when it finished I'll be excited to see if they added anything new in.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
  3. FleurDuMal macrumors 68000

    FleurDuMal

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    London Town
    #3
    I've just downloaded it.

    Don't get too excited. It's just to correspond with the updated iTunes.

    I don't think we'll see significant updates of FrontRow until Frontrow 2 with the iTV.
     
  4. nitynate macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
  5. apunkrockmonk thread starter macrumors 6502a

    apunkrockmonk

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #5
    I see that now. Oh well.

    My friend's front row ceased to work on his MB, maybe this will revitalize it.
     
  6. FleurDuMal macrumors 68000

    FleurDuMal

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    London Town
    #6
    Oooh ooh ooh...major change people.

    Instead of just "Trailer" it now says "Theatrical Trailer", and it also displays guardian ratings (which are meaningless anywhere outside of the US...).
     
  7. riko macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    Glasgow area, Scotland
    #7
    is any one else having problems since upgrading to 1.3? My front row seems to be unresponsive on occasion now taking 5-10 secs to react to a key press or remote command. Also the click sound that used to accompany scrolling up and down lists is missing unless I scroll really fast then I hear it every so often.

    So far not a very good update for me.

    :(
     
  8. ghall macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #8
    No problem here. It scrolls like butter.
     
  9. FleurDuMal macrumors 68000

    FleurDuMal

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    London Town
    #9
    Yep, I keep on getting hang ups now.

    I rarely ever use Front Row anyway. A pretty shoddy piece of software really. Embarrassing for Apple when you compare it to its competitors (who, to be fair, do usually charge whereas Apples is free).
     
  10. lOUDsCREAMEr macrumors regular

    lOUDsCREAMEr

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Location:
    Safari desert
    #10
    EXCLUSIVE screenies ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Mac the knife macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Location:
    Kansas
    #11
    If I go into "Theatrical Trailer" I do not get the movie images. It just shows the holders with the quicktime logo with a question mark under it. Any ideas?
     
  12. Killyp macrumors 68040

    Killyp

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    #12
    It also does Playlists inside folders, which 1.2 didn't (very annoying for me). It just lumped all the songs from all the playlists in one single playlist for that folder.

    It's also a lot more responsive for moi...
     
  13. Viktor Laszl0 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    #13
    No Coverflow view for browsing albums, then? When I saw the new version I was sure they would've included at least that :(

    I use my Mac Mini with my HDTV as an HTPC - is there any way to use the cover view to browse with a remote?
     
  14. sunfast macrumors 68020

    sunfast

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #14
    Coverflow seems like such an obvious addition to frontrow too - it would be such a good way to browse, full screen with the apple remote.
     
  15. Viktor Laszl0 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    #15
    Has anyone compared the performance between the original freeware Coverflow and the Apple implementation?

    My Mini Core Duo was slightly sluggish at 1080p with the original, but I have yet to try iTunes - but I will when I get home.
     
  16. Snowy_River macrumors 68030

    Snowy_River

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    Corvallis, OR
    #16
    Well, I haven't felt compelled to update to FR 1.3, as I haven't found anything that the current version can't do, and it's always a headache to re-enable it, as I'm not on an officially supported computer.

    Anyway, here are a couple of screen shots of my own. I am a consummate tinkerer, as you can see. I didn't like what the menus said, and I wanted my own icons. So there they are!
     

    Attached Files:

  17. MisterEd macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
  18. Virtualball macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    #18
    Did you use my old tutorial for modifying Front Row?
     
  19. Tehy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    Finland
  20. Snowy_River macrumors 68030

    Snowy_River

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    Corvallis, OR
    #20
    Nope. Just went in and saw what was there. I even tried to get rid of a couple of the menu items by commenting them out in the .strings file, but that just made it default to the generic name for the field rather than the nicer name.

    But I've been tinkering with apps almost since OS X came out and I discovered how readily small changes could be made just by looking at the resources inside the bundles. Sure beats the old ResEdit days!
     

Share This Page