Front Row Issues

Discussion in 'macOS' started by yogi477, Jun 18, 2006.

  1. yogi477 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Location:
    England
    #1
    I have just got my new iMac but I am having trouble with front row. I have transferred my music from my old powerbook using migration assistant and it all works in iTunes but when I use front row I am told I am not authorised to play the song (even though I am signed into my account on iTunes and most of the songs I try are not bought from there anyway).

    Any Ideas? Apple support is closed today :(

    I tried changing permissions by the way and repairing
     
  2. howesey macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    #2
    Did you buy the music off iTunes Music Store?

    If you did, you need to authorise your computer as the files make use of DRM.
     
  3. yogi477 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Location:
    England
    #3

    Some yes, some no, but I have authorised it and the songs play in iTunes, just not through front row, even the ones that i have encoded from my own cds.
     
  4. Copland macrumors regular

    Copland

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #4
    Have you restarted?

    Frontrow seems not to change stuff until you restart your computer.
     
  5. arcobb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado
    #5
    I had the same issue, Front Row wouldn't play my songs that were non-iTunes music store songs as well... I'll I had to do was play a couple of them in iTunes and then Front Row worked fine... hope this helps!
     
  6. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #6
    I would just try rebooting, because technically Front Row is just a graphic shell. All it's doing when it plays music is opening iTunes in the background.
     

Share This Page