Front row on a PPC Mac Mini 1.5ghz?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by California, Dec 30, 2006.

  1. macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #1
    Is there any way to put front row on a PPC Mac Mini 1.5ghz?
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    adrianblaine

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    #2
  3. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Moto E815: MOT-8720_/00.62 UP.Browser/6.2.3.4.c.1.104 (GUI) MMP/2.0)

    If you have 10.4.8, it won't work. I think it might possibly hose your Mac too.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Copland

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #4
    If I remember correctly, when Steve-all-mighty-Jobs showed off leopard, he said that it would include 'The Whole Package' of PhotoBooth and FrontRow. So, once leopard comes out, you should be able to press [apple, esc] and have it open up.

    Sorry about having to wait, though!:eek: There might be a faster way.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #5
    Hey, that's great news about Leopard --

    and I have actually resisted 10.4.8 on both my 12" PB 1.5ghz and the mini 1.5ghz PPC -- running 10.2 and 10.7 respectively -- because of the constant fan issues.
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    speakerwizard

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #6
    ive had it running on g4 machines but its far too much effort, every os and itunes update mean you have to reactivate it and its just too much trouble, buy an alternative, theres a few out there.
     
  7. macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #7
    I have Front Row running on my iBook in my sig, so obviously a G4 isnt required. Just something with Quartz Extreme.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #8
    What exactly is quartz extreme, Re-LP? Is it on all G3 ibooks (like the 500mhz?)

    Sounds like I need to wait for Leopard? But I heard leopard won't support G3s?
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    4JNA

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    looking for trash files
    #9
    easy to check for quartz extreme support -- open system profiler, look under hardware, graphics/display, and it will show supported or not.
     

Share This Page