Front Row on New Mac Pro??

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by stevo86, Aug 7, 2006.

  1. stevo86 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Location:
    Newfoundland, Canada
    #1
    Ok... so i've been waiting for the iMac's to update, but now with the release of this mac pro i can get the lowest configuration for just $300 canadian than the highest iMac configuration. This is very tempting with the fact that there's 2 Dual cores and lots of room for upgrades later (video card, ram, hard drives)

    however, there's one major thing stopping me. Will i be able to have Front Row working on this thing? i use my current dell laptop hardcore for watching movies and tv shows and whatnot and the whole Front Row thing is my favorite part of the mac, (this would be my first mac).

    any advice would be great... also i would be looking for a decent display for the mac pro if i were to get it, any suggestions there? thinking of this LG - http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/proddetail.asp?logon=&langid=EN&sku_id=0665000FS10075693&catid=
     
  2. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #2
    I believe that you are going to have to wait for Leopard before you can use Front Row on your Mac Pro. :eek: :)
     
  3. xfiftyfour macrumors 68030

    xfiftyfour

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Clemson, SC
    #3
    I'd think you'd be able to get front row on your mac pro, you just won't have the remote. I mean, if I could get front row on my old PB G4, then I'd think the highest end MP should be able.

    Perhaps once some MR users get their MPs, they'd be willing to give it a try and let us all know the results.
     
  4. stevo86 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Location:
    Newfoundland, Canada
    #4
    it just baffles me that it doesn't come with front row... it's such an awesome feature... there's nothing like it on the windows side of things. a couple of my friends and i were in future shop last week and i showed them front row on an iMac for the first time and they didn't even know what was going on, they were just in awe. and one of them were talking about getting a mbp today!
     
  5. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #5
    I agree, I wish that Apple would bundle Front Row with every Mac- it is truly a great program to have on your computer. :)
     
  6. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #6
    Apple did say that Front Row will be included with Leopard, and there is already a Front Row remote available from Keyspan.
     
  7. xfiftyfour macrumors 68030

    xfiftyfour

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Clemson, SC
    #7
    The problem here, that everyone seems to be forgetting, is that the Mac Pro isn't aimed at ordinary users who are going to utilize iTunes and movie trailers and showing off their latest vacation photos. It's a "pro" desktop, that is aimed at developers and "professionals". A feature like front row is geared towards the consumer, the student, the "average" user - not the same people they're marketing their Mac Pro towards.

    I think the only reason that Front Row was included in the MBP is because it's a portable, and as such, the IR remote comes in handy for other functions as well (some of which they may plan on incorporating in Leopard?) such as presentations, etc.
     
  8. gco212 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #8
    Except for Media Center...
     
  9. Ensoniq macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Bronx, NY
    #9
    The lack of an IR sensor and an Apple Remote being included with the Mac Pro lends credence to previous rumors that updated Cinema Displays are coming.

    The Mac notebooks sit on your desk...so does the Mac mini...so does the iMac. So all of them have the IR sensor in a place that is easily accessible. A Mac Pro, lovely as it is, could be hiding underneath your desk with not-so-great line of sight for that sensor.

    The rumor is new displays are coming with built-in iSight (major feature of Leopard is iChat) and an IR sensor. The screen is on your desk, making an IR sensor there much more convenient. It also convinces buyers to get an Apple display to enhance their Mac Pro rather than some Dell offering.

    I can't imagine that Apple is really "banning" Front Row from Mac Pros, so to speak. I think the missing piece of the puzzle is the updated displays. Personally, other than technical difficulties in manufacturing, I think TODAY should have been their release date. But wait and see...
     
  10. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #10
    Ordinarily I'd see this as plausible, but the fact that the displays were silently updated today gives me a lot of doubt.
     
  11. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #11
    i think the majority of users of the MacPro won't have any need to be leaning back with Front Row. But its something they could have easily implemented, and I can't see any reason why they wouldnt have done it.
     
  12. Lincoln macrumors regular

    Lincoln

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    Older macs too?

    Everyone seems to be fogetting older Macs that don't have built-in isght cameras and/or IR sensors.

    I believe that we will see displays with built-in i-sight cameras and IR sensors. I also think that a USB IR sensor is a possibility too.

    Only time will tell.
     
  13. Killyp macrumors 68040

    Killyp

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    #13
    Media Center is crap to be honest with you. The last 3 times I've played with it down at PC world, it's crashed or had serious glitches. The machines the software is on also sounds like it's about to take off. I wouldn't want that running by my TV all the time...
     
  14. stevo86 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Location:
    Newfoundland, Canada
    #14
    i know a lot of people with older macs are running front row, but how? and will i be able to force my mac pro to have front row like some people have done with their g4 powerbooks and such?

    i'm planning on possibly ordering the mac pro today... but i dunno if i can if i can't make it have front row. might have to wait for those core 2 duo imacs.
     
  15. 2ndPath macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    #15
    Also the MacBook Pro is much less of a machine that is tailored to the needs of the same kind of professional users as the Mac Pro. They are much more life style machines and geared towards consumers as well as professionals.
     
  16. joshysquashy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    if new cinema displays were released with built in isight and ir receiver and shipped with a remote (which is likely judging from the recent price cuts), would it be able to control all these things over dvi/vga (i doubt it) or would it need like 3 cables - one dvi/vga and 2 usb in order to function? in which case this is not apples beautiful simple design where you only need one cable?

    i wonder if the new mac pro's have a special dvi port for the new displays?
     
  17. 2ndPath macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    #17
    The current cinema displays already have more than one cable. Or at least they have one cable that splits up at the end to a DVI, USB and Firewire (and Power?) to connect the USB and Firewire hubs. These should already be sufficient to connect an iSight and IR-Sensor to.
     
  18. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #18

    What, don't you like to see the "Blue Screen of Death" on your
    television Killyp? :p ;) :D
     
  19. tripwire macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    #19
  20. MovieCutter macrumors 68040

    MovieCutter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #20
    Something as silly as front row is stopping you from buying a workstation class machine versus a consumer class machine? Seems like you have your priorities all wrong...:rolleyes:
     

Share This Page