Front Row Problems/Questions

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by cb31, May 22, 2006.

  1. cb31 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #1
    I've just got my first mac, a 17" iMac Core duo and am having some trouble with Front Row. For a start it keeps not starting when I press the menu button on the remote. I've tried pressing the Force quit key sequence and from the apple icon in the top left but force quit never starts. After a machine restart it is fine. Photo booth has also locked up so maybe it is a more generic problem.

    What I really want to know is how to make movies show up in front row. It says to put movies in the users movie folder but all mine are on a network drive hanging off a pc server. How can I make front row look for movies in different locations on my hard drives? I was thinking of unix soft links but am not sure if they exist in osx or would work. I don't want to store 2 copies of every movie as I don't have the disk space.

    Any help or hints would be most appreciated. Thanks
     
  2. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #2
    Just a thought, maybe try making your movie folder an alias to the real movie folder? Dunno if this will work, but it's worth a try.
     
  3. Mojo67821 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    #3
    I too have had the "non starting" problem but no one seems to know what's wrong.

    What seems to happen is that after a fresh boot it works fine, every time I press the menu button... but after it goes to sleep and gets woken back up I am no longer able to bring up front row, from either the remote or the keyboard shortcut (apple-escape). If I reboot it works fine again... it's wierd.
     
  4. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #4
    Unix soft links = aliases, so yes it should work. You might also be able to use QT "reference movies".

    I've only experienced the "no start" with FR on my 17" iMac once, and I let my system sleep all the time. In that case my 2 year old had been pushing the buttons on the remote like a madman and I think that confused FR. Now he doesn't get to use the remote.

    B
     
  5. cb31 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #5
    Thanks for the replies. It looks like aliases may work so I'll give that a try tonight if I have time. What I will try and do is put a tv shows alias under the movies section and a movies alias under there also. I hope that front row will allow you to traverse directories beneath movies as I don't want to reorganise my server.

    It is a bit worrying that I am not alone with the non-starting and there seems to be no fix. As I'm new to the apple world is it worth raising the issue with apple?
     
  6. Malcster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #6
  7. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #7
    Yes, do report the issue particularly if it is recurring.

    B
     

Share This Page