Ftp software showing incorrect ip address

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by max¥¥, Jan 1, 2013.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    In OSX Snow Leopard / Godalming UK
    #1
    Hey, i recently switched to a airport extreme router, and have noticed in my ftp software the user's ip's are shown incorrectly. I'm using rumpus and the ip address is shown as my routers ip, it worked perfectley fine before i switched t the airport extreme. The ftp service is working (users can login and transfer files) just it shows the wrong ip (so all my ip bans no longer work)

    Anyone have any ideas?

    thanks
    max¥¥
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    someguy

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Location:
    Still here.
    #2
    Is your AirPort Extreme your router, or is it just being used as an access point?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    In OSX Snow Leopard / Godalming UK
    #3
    it is being used as the router
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #4
    I'm using my 4th gen Airport Extreme as my router and having Server installed on my 09 mac mini, I see the actual IP that I connect from listed.

    Never used Rumpus before but, it sounds like you used port forwarding to redirect port 21 from the outside to the internal IP with port 21. That would cause the IP to show up as the AE's internal IP.

    How to fix that? Besides running Server, I'm not sure.
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    someguy

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Location:
    Still here.
    #5
    Sounds like a NAT issue to me. Incoming requests are being source-natted so that by the time they reach the server, the source addresses are all that of the router. Not sure how to fix that in an AirPort Extreme, though.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    In OSX Snow Leopard / Godalming UK
    #6
    Yes, i am using port forwarding.
    The server is running osx server (10.5.8 on my xserve G4), however the inbuilt ftp server just dosen't work for what i use it for (too much time and effort to set it up, as the same files are shared over 2 other protocols)
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #7
    I'm not too sure of the differences but, I think ML Server "took over" the Airport Extreme and opened up the running server ports that it needed. My AE is the router, with one of my five static IPs and my server has an internal IP. That's why I say it "took over" the AE.

    I'll read up some more and see if I can figure something out.

    EDIT: Do you have the option to configure the AE via the Server app? I know in MLServer, I can.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    In OSX Snow Leopard / Godalming UK
    #8
    Nope, i can't see any option to configure it via server admin
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #9
    I'll download the trail version later today on my other Mac mini at the house and install it, then port forward 21 to it and test. I'll post up if it's the external or internal IP.
     

Share This Page