fullscreen apps with multiple displays on mountain lion?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by sambobsessed, Apr 6, 2013.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    #1
    the title basically says it all. I'm running mountain lion and want to know how can i make my apps full screen without giving up the other screen? kind of defeats the purpose >.>

    ----------

    thanks
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    I'd also like to know this...
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    #3
    As would I
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #4
    The general answer is "No".

    You can't run two different apps full-screen in two different monitors, nor one app across two monitors.
     
  5. macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #5
    While you can't use "full screen mode" on most apps, you can drag the edges of a app's window to make it take the full screen. Some apps (particularly virtual machines and video viewers other than Quicktime X) will go full screen on a single monitor and leave the other(s) free for use. Other apps (thinking here Powerpoint, Keynote, Aperture, and Final Cut Pro) will use a pair of monitors intelligently in full screen mode, but won't allow a second application.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    #6
    thanks for the answer - are there no 3rd party apps to manage multiple monitors to do something like this?

    as i said before "it kind of defeats the purpose of having multiple monitors if you can't have them fullscreen" :(
     
  7. macrumors 68030

    Krazy Bill

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    #7
    Just don't use Full Screen mode. :) Seriously, you typically only gain an extra line because the menu bar gets hidden anyway.

    I struggled with Apple's Full Screen apps which for some reason unknown to me require their own dedicated desktop in "Missing" Control. I simply ignore this feature(?).
     
  8. macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #8
    I use BetterSnapTool or BetterTouchTool (which also customizes the Magic Mouse or Touchpad strokes). I just drag a window to the top of a screen and it enlarges to fill the entire screen, much like the "Maximize" button in Microsoft Windows.

    Well, you can use them full screen, but you can't use the Lion/MtLion "full screen mode". This was intended for showing a single application per desktop for attention focus. And for that use it works just fine.
     
  9. lonesdav000, Apr 19, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2013

    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    #9
    Any progress on this?

    I, too, have been looking for a fix for this. Specifically, I'm looking for a way to force the individual displays to act independently and have their own separate "mission control".


    That is not the issue. The issue is the waste of an entire monitor, if not multiple monitors if you use more than just 2. Also, when you just maximise the window, it doesn't stay there. If you switch desktops on one monitor, it switches on every monitor!
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    #10
    didn't Tim cook or someone else at apple say something about os x full screen not being quite up to par? maybe next version will be better, at least to windows 8 or Ubuntu level?
     
  11. macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #11
    After you maximize the window, go to the app in the dock, right click and select "Options Assign to All Desktops". Then when you switch desktops the window will stay in place.
     
  12. lonesdav000, Apr 20, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2013

    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    #12
    ???

    That option does not seem to exist...

    [​IMG]

    Edit: Found a fix for that...
    Code:
    rm ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.spaces.plist; killall Dock;
    [​IMG]

    Now the issue is that this work-around applies to all windows for a given app...
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    #13
    Why is it a "Mode"?

    OSX "Full Screen mode"
    ... or "How to make a virtually unusable operating system"
    I decided to check out if Apple had stepped up and fixed some of the OSX shortcomings that had me using Win7 on my MBP. So bootcamped into ML, and plugged in the second monitor. Amazed that the very first thing I attempted to do cannot be done... Why do Apple call this a "mode" anyway.. Windows has been able to seamlessly use apps in full screen, half screen, anything you want , for over a decade. Why create an OS that can't use apps in full screen with multiple monitors.. perplexing times indeed ...
     
  14. macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #14
    This is an old thread, talking about an OS that is about to become two versions behind. Starting with Mavericks you can have full screen apps in each monitor as well as switch desktops in each monitor separately, the menu bar appears in each monitor (and is active in the monitor containing the active window), and the dock will also pop up in any monitor. So the (finally) fixed the multiple monitor problem.
     

Share This Page