Function keys on Macbook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Fabiano, Jun 1, 2008.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Palmas, Brazil
    #1
    Hello guys, first I want to say that I just bought my first Mac, a Penryn Macbook Pro 2.4. I never used Leopard before so Im a complete noob in that...
    Im reading some tutorials on the Apple site to learn about it, but one thing that I still not figured out is about the function keys on Macbook (f1 - f12). As I can see, they are by default assigned to work with the icons on them, for exemple, f2 changes screen brightness when I press it. For me its quite strange, since I came from a Toshiba with Vista, where I press the Fn key + F7 to get the same effect. So, In some applications, like terminal, when i need to use a function key I dont know how to use... for exemple, I connect via ssh in a remote Suse Linux terminal, an open mcedit. in mcedit, f10 closes the application, but i cant do that, when i press f10 it mutes my sound... So how can I use this, Im very confused! please Help me...
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    #2
    See the little key on the bottom left of the keyboard labeled "Fn"?

    Hold it down. Your Function keys will work.
     
  3. macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    上海 (Shanghai)
  4. macrumors 603

    siurpeeman

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    the OC
    #4
    you can do as the above poster suggested and fress "fn" with the function key. or if you want to invert this (where pressing "fn" + f10 mutes the sound), you can change it in the keyboard system preferences. you need to check the box that enables standard function key use.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Palmas, Brazil
    #5
    yes, i tried it out and no success. Instead it makes the current windows glows or someting like that...

    edited: just figured out... its was expose settings, I just disabled f10 function on expose preferences. Sorry about my noob questions.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Palmas, Brazil
    #6
  7. macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    上海 (Shanghai)
    #7
    Don't worry; I just wanted to point out that sometimes when you search use terms that may sound close; I apologize if I sounded a little harsh. ;)
     

Share This Page