Functional Differences between FCStudio and FCE?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by netdog, Sep 21, 2006.

  1. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Hi,

    I know that a lot of other programs are bundled into FCS, but it is unclear to me from the website how buying FCE for much less money would limit me. Any and all insight appreciated.

    Also, I have two Intel iMacs (one a Merom) and a MacBook. While FCS is licensed to run on one desktop and one portable, as I personally have no remorse about installing it on all three computers as I would only be running it on a single machine at any given time, is there anything that restricts me from installing it successfully on both iMacs?
     
  2. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #2
    Nope, nothing is holding you back. Apple is going by a honor system, thinking everybody goes by rules.

    Final Cut Studio and Final Cut Express are different beasts.

    Final Cut Express has incorporated a lot of traits from it's bigger brother, Final Cut Pro, such as Dynamic RT and multiple layers. Final Cut Express includes Livetype, and Soundtrack 1.5.

    Final Cut Studio brings an advanced toolset:
    Final Cut Pro 5.1-Advanced features, The PRO version
    Soundtrack Pro-More features in this one then the previous versions
    Motion-Motion Graphics, stylize your videos with this, very cool
    DVD Studio Pro-Burn your DVD's, a lot more control over it then iDVD

    If you can get a EDU discount, Final Cut Studio will only cost you 700 bucks, rather then 1300.
     
  3. illegalprelude macrumors 68000

    illegalprelude

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #3
    exactly. I own Final Cut Studio. Although I dont tap into the other parts of it yet, its nice to have them there and I got the EDU discount. Still comes in the 50lB box with all the booklets and 30 thousand DVD's lol.

    Keep in mind, the program takes up like 30GB hahaha :D
     
  4. Danksi macrumors 68000

    Danksi

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Nelson, BC. Canada
    #4
    You can install Studio on the two machines, but I believe it comes up with an error if you try and run it on more than one machine, on the same network - something like 'studio has detected another instance of this application is running on this network and will close'.
     
  5. netdog thread starter macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #5
    Perfect news. I will just install it on the two iMacs then and stay in license. I have no intention of running it on two machines at once, so that is a perfect solution for me. Thanks for the information.
     
  6. it5five macrumors 65816

    it5five

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    New York
    #6

    I would just like to add something. When you buy FCS with the EDU discount, you are buying the academic version of the software, which means you cannot upgrade it.
     
  7. jacg macrumors 6502a

    jacg

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    I often wonder if I need all the really high end features of FCP but I heard that FCE doesn't do clip logging and batch capture. Perhaps someone can tell me - does that mean importing video is manual is like in iMovie?

    Logging and batch capture are really useful and batch export via compressor is useful for repurposing video for DVD or the Web.

    I also like playing with Motion. DVDStudio is powerful but I find it amazingly unintuitive for an Apple app.
     
  8. edcrosay macrumors member

    edcrosay

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #8
    Another major difference between the two is that FCE does not support Edit to Tape.. which isn't a problem for most people because most are using miniDV cameras. This only comes into play for Beta decks and such.
     
  9. alvinjleb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    #9
    I am thinking of buying a new mac pro with final cut express. I plan on editing wedding videos
    with 2 or 3 cameras. Then burning the product to a dvd for the client. Will Final cut express allow me to edit all 3 cameras or will i need to go to pro.
     
  10. spicyapple macrumors 68000

    spicyapple

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #10
    According to Apple's comparison page, only Final Cut Studio offers multi-cam editing, which would make editing a 2/3 camera wedding a whole lot easier.

    Final Cut Studio is the choice for me because of these important features:
    1) Compressor software (for MPEG2 encoding for DVD Studio Pro)
    2) Timecode (essential for synching TC among cameras that don't support gen-lock)
    3) Extensive In/Out options
    4) Native HDV and 24FPS
     
  11. Lebowski macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #11
    this is the first i have heard of this.

    i have been under the impression that software is one per computer (unless a family/multi lic pak is purchased). I have FCS on my quad, and have FCE on my PB. I am allowed to drop FCS on the PB as well? again, i obviously will only be using one at a time.....
     
  12. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #12
    If you are going to edit full time and the gear will pay for itself then there's no reason not to get FCS. But if it's just a part time/hobby thing then I'd get FCE and upgrade later if need be. A few years ago I cut weddings on the side w/FCP 3.5 (no multicam) and it wasn't hard at all.

    Lebowski,
    I do believe that netdog is correct and you can install it on a desktop and a laptop as long as the machines aren't used at the same time.


    Lethal
     
  13. netdog thread starter macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #13
    Does FCE qualify one to pay the upgrade price for FCS down the line or would one have to buy FCS at full price?
     
  14. alvinjleb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    #14
    well i definitly need to be able to edit multible cameras, But this is just a part time job thing for me. I'm working with a few freinds who shoot the weddings. I'm looking at editing one wedding a week. I not really sure how much money this is going to bring in so investing in studio may be a bad business decision for me at first. I wanted to hold of on spending big bucks on studio just incase this side job doesn't work like i plan. And i would like to maximize my investment. Buying the system isn't that hard.... it will get used reguardless... but over a grand in software is hard to swallow.
     
  15. ghall macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #15
    I think there's a special upgrade price for users of Final Cut Express, I could be wrong though.
     
  16. Rasheem macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    #16
    well If you shoot the wedding and edit thats like $1000
    for like2 hours shooting and like 4 editing. It sgood money i know people tha work like 5 days a month. of course it may be hard to make 100 grand a year because weddings are usually only saturdays.
     

Share This Page