Fusion 3 modified to run SL

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by jgbr, Jul 4, 2010.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #1
    Fusion 3 seems only to support snow leopard server, not snow leopard?
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    Supa_Fly

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #2
    Doesn't make any sense?!

    Why would you run Snow Leopard in Fusion 3? You either can run Fusion or you cannot. If you cannot then even in emulation it makes no sense, does it? Also this would circumvent Apple's ROM in the code ... maybe down the road it would be supported on newer OS X 10.7.xx or higher but natively in Snow Leopard or lower just doesn't make sense.
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    macsmurf

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    #3
    Sometimes it's nice to have a virtual SL to test things out on. It does seem to go against the EULA, though.

    It can be fairly easily done but I'm not sure that it is within the rules of the forum to tell you how. Luckily Google exists.
     
  4. macrumors demi-god

    VideoFreek

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Location:
    Philly
    #4
    If all you want is a "sandbox" to play around in, wouldn't a better approach be to simply clone your system to an external drive and then boot from that?
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    #5
    Snow Leopard client is restricted from virtualisation by its EULA. Snow Leopard Server isn't. Hence VMware only allow server to be virtualised.

    There are hacks about to get around this situation, but i've not tried them.
     

Share This Page