fw target disk mode question

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by homeshire, Dec 18, 2007.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Ohio, looking toward Germany
    #1
    i have an older g4 ibook which is in need of a reinstall. unfortunately, the optical drive has long since crapped out. my question is simply this. could i connect that ibook to my g5 imac via fw target disk mode; insert panther/tiger install disc (haven't decided which yet) in the g5; wipe and install the ibook in this manner?

    i'm pretty sure i have read that this is doable. don't want to find out the hard way that i'm mistaken. :confused:

    thanks
     
  2. JNB
    macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #2
    Yup.

    Shut both machines down, connect via FW, restart the iBook, the restart the iMac holding down the "t" key; the G5 is the one you want in Target Disk mode, that (and its optical drive) will be seen as mounted volumes on the iBook.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    JSchwage

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #3
    Actually, this is one of the ways you can install Leopard on an "unsupported" Mac too. :D
     
  4. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Ohio, looking toward Germany
    #4
    great. thanks for responding. especially since i would have thought that i would need to have turned the order around, having the ibook in fw mode.

    surely would have confused myself on that one.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Ohio, looking toward Germany
    #5
    not sure i will venture tiger, let alone leopard. it came with panther, and that is surely the path of least resistance.
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    #6
    If you've got at least 512mb of ram, you can definitely do Tiger. I had it on a g3 800mhz 640mb, and it ran well enough. Since you've got a g4, it'll do as long as you've got sufficient memory. The main reason to upgrade past Panther is because the majority of software out there is 10.4 or later; if not for that, I'd have stayed with Panther myself. But if you don't need the newest software (or Spotlight/Dashboard), P will do.
     

Share This Page