fw target disk mode question

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by homeshire, Dec 18, 2007.

  1. homeshire macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Ohio, looking toward Germany
    #1
    i have an older g4 ibook which is in need of a reinstall. unfortunately, the optical drive has long since crapped out. my question is simply this. could i connect that ibook to my g5 iMac via fw target disk mode; insert panther/tiger install disc (haven't decided which yet) in the g5; wipe and install the ibook in this manner?

    i'm pretty sure i have read that this is doable. don't want to find out the hard way that i'm mistaken. :confused:

    thanks
     
  2. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #2
    Yup.

    Shut both machines down, connect via FW, restart the iBook, the restart the iMac holding down the "t" key; the G5 is the one you want in Target Disk mode, that (and its optical drive) will be seen as mounted volumes on the iBook.
     
  3. JSchwage macrumors 6502a

    JSchwage

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #3
    Actually, this is one of the ways you can install Leopard on an "unsupported" Mac too. :D
     
  4. homeshire thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Ohio, looking toward Germany
    #4
    great. thanks for responding. especially since i would have thought that i would need to have turned the order around, having the ibook in fw mode.

    surely would have confused myself on that one.
     
  5. homeshire thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Ohio, looking toward Germany
    #5
    not sure i will venture tiger, let alone leopard. it came with panther, and that is surely the path of least resistance.
     
  6. heatmiser macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    #6
    If you've got at least 512mb of ram, you can definitely do Tiger. I had it on a g3 800mhz 640mb, and it ran well enough. Since you've got a g4, it'll do as long as you've got sufficient memory. The main reason to upgrade past Panther is because the majority of software out there is 10.4 or later; if not for that, I'd have stayed with Panther myself. But if you don't need the newest software (or Spotlight/Dashboard), P will do.
     

Share This Page