G.Skill for those fearing compatibility

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by kevin.rivers, Aug 6, 2006.

  1. kevin.rivers macrumors 6502a

    kevin.rivers

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    #1
  2. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #2
    "Apple MacBook and MacBook Pro Compliant"

    Nice
     
  3. ivnds macrumors 6502

    ivnds

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #3
    Whats the dfference between 5400, and 5300, is it faster? if it is ho much faster?
     
  4. kevin.rivers thread starter macrumors 6502a

    kevin.rivers

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    #4
    5400 is faster, but since you can't alter speeds on the Macs it will just run at 5300. The difference wouldn't be noticeable anyhow.

    But if 5400 could do faster CAS at 5300 speed that would be nice, but again Macs don't really allow for this type of adjustment.
     
  5. ivnds macrumors 6502

    ivnds

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #5
    So if it wont represent any speed increase, there's no need to pay extra for this, when itll still run at 5300. Thanks for clearing things up!
     
  6. macdaddy121 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    Georgia
    #6
    It will not represent any speed increase however at newegg.com the 5400 was cheaper than the 5300 by about 2 dollars. I bought the 5400 and ran all the test and have had NO problems. This Macbook is FLYING!!

    So, you actually save money getting the faster RAM
     
  7. xfiftyfour macrumors 68030

    xfiftyfour

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Clemson, SC
    #7
    that's great news. i'm looking to buy another gig chip for my MB and wasn't sure if i should pay the extra for another OWC chip, or opt for the G.Skill's lower price.

    from what I've read, no one's had any trouble with G.Skill, so I think my decision is pretty much made!
     
  8. kevin.rivers thread starter macrumors 6502a

    kevin.rivers

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    #8
    You are not really paying extra in most cases.
     
  9. ivnds macrumors 6502

    ivnds

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #9
    So, you actually save money getting the faster RAM[/QUOTE]


    Wow! i didnt think the 5400 would be cheaper, i guess thatll make some people go for that one.
     
  10. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #10
  11. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #11
  12. wako macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    #12

    If you bought your RAM from one vendor, and then want to buy another so that you can dual channel, it is best that you actually buy the same make and model from that vendor you bought from.

    Dual channel requires the RAM to be exactly alike. If there are any variation in the memory, it can cause the system crash.

    Also, although when you buy RAM you can find the same specs as your current one, there are more factors than just latency in the RAM. If anything else varies, you might have a unstable system. That is why if you ever buy RAM and intend to dual channel later, it is best to do it then and there rather than later.

    In my opinion, and through experience (had a really picky mobo that fried itself because they werent exactly identical, of course this has got to be the worse case scenario), if anyone wants to buy RAM and dual channel with 2gigs, it is best you just buy a kit rather than two of these because the manufacterer thoroughly tests their kits that they are identical to one another.
     
  13. CHROMEDOME macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area/LA
    #13
    I've got a pair of 1gb G.Skill 5300 sticks in my whitebook. Works great runnin at 667mhz
     

Share This Page