G3 400 Mhz as a file server

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by mail4asim, Mar 12, 2007.

  1. mail4asim macrumors member

    mail4asim

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #1
    I see several G3 PowerMacs on sale at geeks.com for around 70 dollars. Has anyone ever used one of these to run OS X and use it as a file server in a Windows / Mac environment ?


    Thank you.
     
  2. APPLENEWBIE macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Location:
    The high desert, USA
    #2

    I've not used one as a server but I have a g3 400mh machine that my secretary uses as a transcription (word processing) machine. I has a wireless card to talk to the network. It has been running without one freeze in 1.5 years. It's running panther with 640mb ram. I got it for $125. What an impressive old machine (8 years old.) I would imagine that it would work well as a server.
     
  3. Super Macho Man macrumors 6502a

    Super Macho Man

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #3
    For file serving, keep in mind that the PMac G3 has only 10/100 Ethernet and doesn't support drives larger than 120GB on the built-in controller. I have a 400MHz G4 Sawtooth, which should be nearly identical in CPU performance to a 400Mhz G3 for file serving, and I added a Firmtek PCI SATA controller, a 320GB SATA drive, and an Intel GigE card. It can sustain 35MB/s to a Core 2 Duo iMac, and the CPU is maxed out at that point. I don't believe the G3 can be upgraded to dual processor, although there are fast single-processor upgrades available.

    Other than all of that, it's a great machine for a server. It has 64-bit PCI slots and you can fit 6 HDs in it if you take out the optical & zip drives, and the power consumption is very low for a tower computer.
     
  4. livingfortoday macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #4
    Up until recently I was using a 500Mhz G4 as a file server, along with a Sonnet Tempo PCI card (which will be FS soon!) to handle the 4 extra hard drives. You shouldn't have any problems, though as noted above, it won't have gigabit ethernet. If you're not sending files to a bunch of computers at once, or don't have a gigabit router, you might not notice it at all, though.
     
  5. iBenzin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    #5
    That G3 is more than enough to handle the job.
     
  6. Flowbee macrumors 68030

    Flowbee

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Alameda, CA
    #6
    I'm still using a G3/400 Powerbook as my main computer. With a gig of RAM, it runs os x Tiger pretty darn well. The processor is certainly up to the task of file serving.
     
  7. Angrist macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Location:
    MI or NJ
    #7
    My 466MHz PowerMac is more than fast enough to run Tiger, iTunes, VLC, etc. RAM is very important though, a gig or more is almost a must for an older machine at this point.
     

Share This Page