G3 B&W needs constant PRAM reset to boot... please help!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Chrispy, May 15, 2005.

  1. Chrispy macrumors 68020

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    Avon, IN
    #1
    Hey all. My B&W 400MHz G3 powermac keeps needing me to do the Command + Option + P + R thing on it for it to boot up everytime. If I don't then I just get a black screen and nothing happens. I have a new graphics card, CPU and Hard Drive on order that will be arriving tomorrow but I don't want to keep the stuff if it won't fix this problem. Does anyone have any advice on what is causing this? Thanks all :)
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    Have you replaced the PRAM battery?

    Should be about US$8 -- 1/2AA 3.6V lithium cell
     
  3. Chrispy thread starter macrumors 68020

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    Avon, IN
    #3
    Haha nope sure have not. Having been a PC user for too long as assume this is the same thing as the CMOS battery on a PC? Do you know where I can pick up one of these things cheap? Thanks!
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    Yes, it's the equivalent of a CMOS battery.

    Your local Radioshack or electronic supply store should have it, otherwise you can mailorder from http://www.datamem.com/viewcat.asp?C=1025, part #B-260 $5.95
     
  5. Chrispy thread starter macrumors 68020

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    Avon, IN
    #5
    Thanks I will pick one up on my way to work tomorrow :)
     
  6. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #6
    Take the old one with you, or remember its the 1/2AA 3.6V Lithium, with a nipple on the + terminal but no pigtails.

    PS - Make note of the way the old battery is oriented BEFORE you take it out. You don't want to swap + for - when you reinstall.
     

Share This Page