G3 iBook and Tiger

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by Brother Michael, Jun 10, 2005.

  1. Brother Michael macrumors 6502a

    Brother Michael

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    #1
    I highly recommend Tiger to G3 iBook (and powerbook) users. It is really snappy and quick on my G3 600 mhz with 8megs of video ram.

    Spotlight works fast, Dashboard is fast, all of it.

    I know I was apprehensive about getting it for my Mac, even though it claims it is supported, but it is.

    That is all I wanted to say.

    Mike
     
  2. dr bognus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    The Middle of Nowhere in Particular
    #2
    yeah it runs great on my 500mhz ibook with extra RAM
     
  3. LGRW3919 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Location:
    cupertino (no joke)
    #3

    awesome thanks for the feedback. if you read my sig then you'll soon realize i'm on a G3 ibook as well and i'm on the fence about tiger. i really wanna move on from jaguar but i'm not sure if its worth the money if i'm going to be getting a Rev B 20" iMac soon, with Tiger on it. We'll see though. It sounds like tiger should be tolerable on this bad boy.
     
  4. JupiterTwo macrumors 6502

    JupiterTwo

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Location:
    GB
    #4
    I think Tiger runs as quick, if not quicker than Panther in my G3 iBook. Things like Spotlight and Dashboard run great too - go for it - upgrade :p
     
  5. jamdr macrumors 6502a

    jamdr

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #5
    Well, rarely do Apple's operating systems get slower than previous versions, so I'd expect Tiger to run just as fast if not faster than Panther on any hardware. It's good that Apple isn't leaving us G3 Mac owners behind.
     
  6. Brother Michael thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Brother Michael

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    #6
    LGRW3919: if you are running 10.2 I would definitely upgrade. It is worth every single penny.

    To the rest: I am amazed by the speed of it too. I would have figured it would have been slower...WRONG!
     
  7. Vster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Location:
    Celina, TX
    #7
    Do you think it would run good on a G3 iBook 700 with 384 MB ram?
     
  8. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #8
    Yes, but upgrade the 256MB card under the KB to a 512MB card to get the max 640MB and you'll really run it nice!
     
  9. Vster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Location:
    Celina, TX
    #9
    Thanks :D
     
  10. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #10
    Vster, my experience (but with a G4 and more RAM) is that, in typical use, Tiger seems to use up about 64-128 MB more memory than Panther, so that I had to tone down multitasking very slightly (only in the most severe cases...iPhoto and PSE3 running on top of all the usual apps) as a result of Tiger. So if you typically operate with a lot of free RAM available, Tiger will probably be ok without the upgrade, but if you are getting beachballs now, you will get somewhat more with Tiger. But outside of beachballs, it's *definitely* faster for pretty much everything on which it runs.
     
  11. MacHarne macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Location:
    Virginia, U.S.A.
    #11
    Agreed. I've no had issues with Tiger and this machine is faster than ever.

    Woah! If you are still on Jaguar, you'll likely experience a life-changing world with Tiger. Even with Panther - Expose entirely changed the way you could access programs and that was an enormous leap over Jaguar. However, jumping from Jaguar to Tiger might be so overwhelmingly great that you may explode or something. I'm just warning you...

    :)
     
  12. Brother Michael thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Brother Michael

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    #12
    Heh, I don't have to worry about that. I am a horrible multi-tasker. I always close everything except for Camino, Adium, iTunes. So memory hasn't been a huge problem for me.

    Mike
     
  13. Brother Michael thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Brother Michael

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    #13
    It should be ok. I have Mail, Adium, Camino and iTunes open and I am only using 191megs of RAM.

    A side note, I loaded up Word and started typing and found that it is much more responsive than it was on Panther. I would type something and there would be a 1/2 to 1 second delay between what I typed and what appeared on the screen. It makes proofing on the fly easier.

    Mike

    EDIT: Expose is also a lot smoother too.
     
  14. oxjox macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    #14
    Tigder DVD or CD?

    I just got a used iBook 500 on eBay and I want to put Tger on it. I upgraded the hard drive to 60GB, loaded the Tiger DVD in but I'm getting a flashing folder. Wondering if the iBook either needs a firmware update or if I can't use the DVD to install Tiger :( I'm going to try and boot with target disk and see what happens - would appreciate some help though.
     
  15. matt_randal macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #15
    Did you upgrade you HD yourself?

    I did a clean install of tiger and it runs great on my G3 800 ibook. Id say better than 10.3(Jaguar/panther....I cant remember!!).
     
  16. 3lions macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Location:
    Iowa
    #16
    would tiger work well on my 400mhz imac running 384mb RAM? I'm kind of doubting it but don't really know.
     
  17. oxjox macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    #17
    Target disk worked great :) Installing Linux on it now!
    It is a little slow though, but I'm hoping its just because I just installed the new OS - journaling and syncing and whatnot...
     
  18. jiv3turkey748 macrumors 6502a

    jiv3turkey748

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Location:
    atlanta
    #18
    panther runs ok on my imac 400mhz with 192mb ram it can be slow at times but its not too bad
     
  19. d_saum macrumors 6502

    d_saum

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Location:
    NC
    #19
    Awesome thread!!!! I have a G3 iBook (in sig) and want to install Tiger but was worried it might slow me down, but now I am stoked! Thanks! :D

    Widgets....here I come!!!!
     
  20. mikeytwice macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    #20
    I have an iBook G3 - what sort of ram do I need to purchase for upgrade? I'm not sure whether it has 128 or 256 - the Tiger install went berserk and now my mac hangs at startup at the grey apple screen. I'd rather not purchase ram from the Apple store as it's rather expensive, but I'd like high-quality ram nevertheless.
     
  21. d_saum macrumors 6502

    d_saum

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Location:
    NC
    #21

    what speed is your g3? I would check pricewatch for a good deal (just be sure to check the reviews of the vendor). Dont know what happened to your install. Did it give you an error message?

    I have a 700Mhz iBook with 640MB ram. This is what I added from pricewatch:
    Size: 512 MB
    Type: SDRAM
    Speed: PC133U-333
     
  22. mikeytwice macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    #22
    I'm not sure of the speed offhand. Actually, the computer isn't mine but a friend's, and I'm doing a favor. It should be fast enough, though I don't know if it has enough RAM. I tried formatting the drive and doing a reinstall by booting in target disk mode and installing from a DVD by loading the OSInstall package, and the iBook still hangs. I wish it ran, even if slowly, because then I'd be able to check all the specs...
     
  23. Spock macrumors 68000

    Spock

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Vulcan
    #24
    I think Tiger runs really well on my Clamshell iBook 366MhZ maxed out with RAM the thing is still a fast capable laptop. Its no G5, but it gets the job done in a pinch.
     
  24. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #25
    If I get external storage for my apps and stuff, do you think tiger would run well on my iBook (considering I'm going to upgrade to 576MB of RAM). I'm kinda scared to install a new hard drive in it, and I think I'll wait 2 months before doing that.
     

Share This Page