G3 iBook for Powermac G4 Trade Question

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by drewdespair, May 30, 2003.

  1. drewdespair macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    #1
    Hey Everyone, I posted this at the end of a thread in the "For Sale/Trade" section, and I think this is a better place to put it!


    I was offered a G4 Quick Silver 800Mhz almost at par for my iBook.. I am wondering if it is a worthwhile trade.. That is to say, will I notice a huge difference, or should I save up a few more hundred (ie. Seven Hundred) and trade it in for a New PowerMac G4 1ghz?

    Now the main reason I am doing this is due to the fact that I am in fact a switcher, and I need to be able to run VirtualPC on my Mac to do some work oriented stuff, and the iBook just Crawls in VirtualPC (Running XP Home)

    Will the 800 be fast enough? Or should I consider a wait for the 1ghz?

    I can buy a 1Ghz Sonnet card for under the $700 difference, but would it be as fast as the newer DDR Macs (I think I answered my own question, but I will chuck it out to you pros )

    Thanks for your help everyone!
     
  2. Kwyjibo macrumors 68040

    Kwyjibo

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    #2
    vpc is never going to run that fast or as fast as a real PC.
     
  3. drewdespair thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    #3
    Well, I figured as much.. But would it be silly to assume that VPC would run better on a G4 800 Sans G3 800?

    Thanks for the input!

    Drew
     
  4. tazo macrumors 68040

    tazo

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, Seattle, WA actually
    #4
    No it would not be silly....
    It will automatically run better, but put as much ram as you can afford in it. Also, XP in VPC is slow even on a dual 1.42 with 1 gb of ram. A great way to increase speed in XP is to turn off the eye candy.

    I hope that helps :)

    I have never used XP so i cannot really tell you how, but that is what I have picked up, the eye candy thing.

    -tazo
     
  5. drewdespair thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    #5
    Not a problem! OSX has ALL the eye candy I need :)

    Thanks for the input

    Drew
     
  6. drewdespair thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    #6
    Which now brings up the second question then. Is it worth the extra 600+ dollars for the G4 1Ghz with DDR? Or should I just sit back on the even trade for a G4 800Mhz with SDRam, and Upgrade the Processor Later?


    Drew
     
  7. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #7
    I don't know whether the G4 is going to improve speed, but I've found that Win 98 or 2000 are still faster than XP, even with all XP's candy turned off.
     
  8. hugemullens macrumors 6502a

    hugemullens

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Location:
    Michigan
    #8
    No doubt, even on a 733 quicksilver that my mom had win2k ran alright but xp was a joke. Win2k has ALL the compatibilty you will ever need, and i think its a better OS than xp. So put 2k on there and see how it runs. VPC on a 800 cdrom ibook is tolerable as well with win2k. My girlfriend uses hers for publisher, CD roms for her anotomy classes and what not.
     
  9. drewdespair thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    #9
    Wow everyone, thanks for all the input!!!


    This forum is the best for newbies like me!


    Drew
     
  10. besson3c macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    #10
    Have you looked at just buying a cheap PC and doing the MS Remote Desktop Connection thing?

    It's the best solution out there if a feasible option for you, in my opinion, with little question.
     
  11. drewdespair thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    #11
    Wow, what a terrific idea! I never thought about an RDP Client (I allready have an XP machine! I can't belive I didn't think about that, I use rdesktop at work daily.) Actually, we are going to install a Citrix server where I work, so if I install ICA the client , I should be okay!

    Im still buying a new mac though!

    Thanks!
    Drew
     
  12. besson3c macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    #12
    Microsoft RDC

    Check it out... it's probably the best OS X software Microsoft makes for the Mac.. :)
     
  13. drewdespair thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    #13
    Even better :)

    I use rdesktop at work on our FreeBSD Workstations to connect to a Terminal Server (2K yechhh).

    I thought the best piece of software microsoft made was solitare, but I guess I was wrong

    Thanks again!

    Drew
     

Share This Page